Friday April 6, 2012: The TGIF edition

TGIF! It’s been a hectic and busy week at work and I’m glad we have a 3 day weekend ahead of us. Eastern Monday is a holiday in Holland.

Tuesday I had to take notes at a meeting. Long day because it was outside the office, a 75 minute drive from home. I left at 9 am and opened the door at home at 8.15 pm.

We have this meeting 6 times a year with our management team and 7 franchisees. One of the franchise is going to retire and Tuesday was his last meeting. He has been present at this meeting since the first time I took notes at it, 10 years ago. He had a speech and at the end of it he said he wanted to say something to me personally. He told me how much he had appreciated me everything I’ve done before, during and after the meeting and how I’ve helped him. He said he couldn’t remember not seeing me in this meeting (which is correct because in the 10 years I’ve worked for this company I haven’t missed on of these meetings). Ha had bought me a present: a silver broche with a feather and a perfume voucher. I almost started crying because it was so sweet and I don’t receive compliments very well: they make me blush. But it felt so good to be appreciated.

 

I still owe you an update about my IBS problems. I’m happy to tell you they are gone! The last time I wrote about it on my blog and mentioned I was going back to normal eating (which I did) my problems were gone after a week and never came back. I’m very happy with this.

 

Then there is the weight loss issue: I decided to drop the 180 days challenge (I won’t reach goal weight at my birthday). I need to lose about 6 kg (approx 12 lbs) till goal weight. I will still work on that by using Fatsecret and the 90/10 rule. But I don’t want to write about it anymore, I’m tired of writing about it. I will give one update at the end of the month how much I lost that month and of course share it if I reach goal weight.

I will write about running and other workouts because that’s something I like to do (did I actually write that? Me the couch potato in the past?). I will write about what I’m doing, about Bella, about knitting and cross stitching. Basically about everything I already do except about weight loss.

We don’t have plans yet for Eastern. Sunday we will visit both our mothers after we had our traditional Eastern breakfast together. Tomorrow night we’re going bowling with 4 friends with dinner afterwards. We will probably end up in the garden with the fireplace at my friend’s house. Look forward to tomorrow.

 

Knitting update
No update this week because I didn’t knit at all last week. I was so tired at  night that all I did was watch some TV and go to bed on time.

 

Happy Eastern my dear blogger friends!

 

14 responses to “Friday April 6, 2012: The TGIF edition

  1. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

  2. You are in a good place so I understand why you wouldn’t want to blog about weight loss anymore. You will get there because you have achieved the lifestyle. It’s a four day weekend for me :). Lots of us in Canada get Good Friday and Easter Monday off. Have a great time with your friends on Sat. Sounds like a really fun night.

  3. Happy Easter. Sounds like you will have a very nice weekend. In the US., we got off work an hour early today, and that is all. Back to work on Monday.
    It was very nice of the gentleman to give you a gift. Very thoughtful. It is so nice to get a complement once in a while.

  4. Ohhh bowling……fun! It is so nice to be appreciated. I loved reading this.

  5. So nice of your colleague to recognize you with gifts. That is just wonderful!

    Have a lovely weekend!

  6. So nice to be thanked like that – what a lovely gesture! That gentleman looks too young to retire. 🙂

    As for being over writing about dieting, I completely understand that. Sometimes focusing so much on something for so long just gets old. You know what to do, you know how to eat right, and I have no doubt that you will reach your goal in your own time. Also, I have to say that you are already looking fabulous in that picture!

    Hope you have a great three-day weekend – enjoy your time off, your mothers, and of course R. and Bella!

  7. What a lovely man to recognize you in such a sweet way! I was also thinking he looked a bit young to retire…
    I hear you on the weight loss thing – it gets tiresome and counterproductive to be so focused on it all the time.

    Have a very happy Easter weekend!

  8. Hope you have a great Easter!! Love the gifts & it is great to have someone reconize you isn’t it! You do need to do what you think is best for you & if the challenge isn’t working I understand.

  9. And so you deserve it….and he is a good man to know this as well 🙂

    Have a great Easter…..

  10. Eastern Monday is a holiday In Italy too.
    Family, bowling and garden with the fireplace … It’s easy to see that you’ve planned a great Easter weekend: I hope you’ll enjoy your three-day weekend with your family and your friends!

    On Eastern Monday we are going to a special and quiet countryside with our friends and their children (20 people). It is located next to Tuscany, 50 km north from my town. This is its link:
    http://www.booking.com/hotel/it/agriturismo-podere-giulio.en.html

    Happy Easter!

  11. What a lovely gift! So sweet that he took the time to thank you and show his appreciation.

    I hear you on the dieting. I am just focusing on my workouts and eating and if I lose that last bit of weight – great, but I am not going to sweat about it (other than with my exercise!).

    I think you look great, though.

  12. Happy Easter!
    Dieting can be very, very frustrating. I often find that the less I think about my weight, the easier it is for me to lose or maintain. .
    No free Monday in the US. 😦 One would think we are workaholics here.

  13. Eastern Monday is a holiday in Italy too.
    A very nice gift and beautiful words for you.
    About the diet, this is not the right period to lose weight, too much chocolate and Eastern cakes!!!!

  14. How lovely of the franchisee to recognize you in that way! Too often people in your position are just taken for granted.

    Hope you’re still enjoying your long weekend!

Leave a Reply

