Wednesday April 11 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday

I just couldn’t get out of bed this morning. I kept hitting the snooze button and got up 40 minutes later than I was supposed too. No workout for this reason because I had to get at work in time too.

Friday

Yogalates Original. Because I didn’t run yesterday, I decided to do this workout on my rest day. It was a nice workout for a Friday morning. Focus on spine, abdominals and legs.
Total time: 26 minutes.

Saturday

 Yabbadabbadooooooo! My first 10K of this year and a surprisingly good time too. One of my goals is to run 10K < 1.08 and I got close today. I didn’t really want to go and had 2 escape routes, 1 would make it a 4K run and the other about 7K but when I passed the turns I decided to move on. Only 2 walk breaks during this run. This was a great boost for my running confidence.

Stats:
Weather:dry with an occasionally drop of rain, cloudy, bit windy, 6C (42 degrees)
Distance: 10 K / 6.2 miles
Time: 01:08:16
Average time: 06:50 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bonny Tyler – Holding out for a hero.

Sunday

Rest.

Monday

This run wasn’t my best. My legs felt very tired. I really need to stretch or foamroll more after a run. I didn’t stretch enough after Saturday’s run. I also had too much to eat at Sunday’s dinner which bothered me a bit too. A reminder how important it is to eat right. I had to take 2 walk breaks.
But .. always look on the bright side: I went and I ran.

Stats:
Weather:rainy, windy, 9C (48 degrees)
Distance: 5.1 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:35:43
Average time: 07:00 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – You can’t always get what you want.

Tuesday

P90X, Cardio X. Second time I did a P90X workout and I like it a lot. This workout had a little bit of everything in it: yoga, kenpo, core synergistics. I couldn’t do this program for 3 months, 6 days a week because I would be bored after a week. But as a part of my complete DVD collection I love it.
Total time: 43 minutes.

Wednesday

Unplanned rest day. Like Thursday, I kept hitting the snooze button on my alarm clock and by the time I finally got up, it was to late to go for a run.

Weekly review

Not my best week but I’m okay with it. I’ve been tired the past few weeks. I often have that in Spring (and in Autumn) and it will pass again and my energy will be back.

13 responses to “Wednesday April 11 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. Hey Fran,

    Thank you so much for checking on me. =) I love that you think of me.

    Congrats on completing your first 10K for the year. You were SO close to your goal. You’ll get there soon. Definitely improvement on the walk breaks. Keep it up. You’re awesome!

  2. Your 10k time was so close to your goal! You’ll be there in no time.

  3. Escape routes?!? What a great idea. I’m totally stealing it.

    Some weeks are not great for exercise, but you DID do something, which is better than a lot of people. So there’s that…and I’m sure you’ll get your mojo back. Besides, you obviously needed the sleep. Hope you have a wonderful workout week and all your runs are great!

  4. Great job on the 10K! Woo Hoo!

  5. I am totally cracking up that the last song on your iPod during the run that didn’t feel so great was “You Can’t Always Get What You Want.” How appropriate! If nothing else, running will prove that to you!

  6. Oh that snooze button! Best invention ever!

    Nice job on the 10K!

  7. The snooze button is dangerous sometimes, isn’t it?
    Great job on your 10K!! Are we going to do a race together again this year? Do you want another shot at Breda? Let me know!

  8. Im so curious about P90X…

  9. Glad you had a nice 10 km run!
    I don’t understand where my energy is … yesterday I ran 10 km and my legs felt very tired too. Maybe I ate too much during last Easter weekend.

  10. Roz@weightingfor50

    WAY TO GO on that 10k Fran!!!!!!!!!! And some days, there is NOTHING wrong with having a snooze alarm. HAve a great day!!

  11. Congratulations on the great 10K!!! Hope you have a great weekend!

  12. Serious CONGRATS on your 10 k. That is awesome. Sounds like your Easter weekend was really fun. I thought that dessert trio looked super yummy. Missed your TGIF post 🙂

  13. Sometimes it’s hard to get up but we also have to listen our body.
    Congrats on the great 10 km. Will you sign up for a 10 km in Italy?

Leave a Reply

