Monday April 23, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff:

Saturday morning I went to my Mom for coffee. I had a rest day because of my run on Sunday which was kind of weird because I run most Saturdays.

Yesterday I had my first race of the year. The Sherpa Ladies Run. This run was in a city close to home (10 minutes by car and 6 minutes by train). The weather was okay, the temperature was great for running and most of the run was sunny except between 3 and 4K when it started to rain very hard but that lasted for about 5 minutes. I was soaking wet but immediately the sun came out again and by the time I finished I was almost dry again.

I had no time goal for this run, my only goal was to finish it without walking and not come in last. And I did! I started somewhere in the middle and during the run I passed some runners too. There were already some walking even before the 1K mark. The route went mostly through the city and had a lot spectators along it which is always fun. Because I was somewhere in the middle, I was never running alone either which was nice for a change too.

All things considered: it was a fun race that I finished happy. The stats will follow on my Wednesday post, hopefully with an official picture because I didn’t take any.

Book I’m reading

Dennis Lehane
Mystic River

Finally finished this one. Not started in a new book yet because I first have to read some magazines and cook books I recently bought.

TV shows I watched last week

The Big Bang Theory, Grey’s Anatomy, Once upon a time, Revenge, King, The Good Wife, The Mentalist, 2 Broke Girls.

Dinner

Saturday

I baked a cake with raspberries. Instead of butter I used quark and it tasted very well. Recipe is a keeper.

For dinner I made a Caesar Salad with chicken.

11 responses to “Monday April 23, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. Congratulations on your race! I know you’ve been working hard towards non-stop runs. I had to laugh at your comment that the race was in a city close to home (10 minutes away). I can’t even get out of my city in 10 minutes. HAHAHA. The closest city to the east is at least 15 minutes, to the west is 25 minutes and to the north is at least 25 minutes (south is the USA so that doesn’t really count). Mind you, to put things in perspective, my driveway is almost 1Km long – hahaha.

    Your food pics today look delicious! If I ever come visit, please make both these foods for me. =D

  2. OH MY GOSH, I want that salad AND the cake. You have my address… 😉

    I’m so pleased that your 5K went well! Love that you had a great run and did exactly what you set out to do – finish without being last. Nice work!!! That is a pretty medal, too. Looking forward to all the details (yes, even the numbers)(LOL) on Wednesday. 🙂

  3. Bravo Fran! I am so proud of you! Love the medal.

    I want that cake!!! That is quite an interesting shape, too.

  4. Congratulations on your race!!! Glad you met your goals!

    The food looks lovely…I love chicken Caesar salad. So tasty.

    I recently discovered The Mentalist and cannot get enough. I usually don’t like crime shows because they are too disturbing, but this one isn’t so bad…they don’t show a lot of gross stuff like they do on CSI.

  5. All that food looks so good! And I love the medal!

    Glad you finished Mystic River! Can’t wait to see what you read next.

  6. Great looking cake and that salad looks delicious too! Well done on meeting the goals for your race – good-looking medal too!

  7. And I quote: “it was a fun race that I finished happy” – SUCCESS!!! Good for you! Cute medal too…

  8. Congrats on your race! Looking forward to hearing more about it. I have my first race of the year this Sunday.
    That cake looks amazing. I need to make something like that soon.

  9. Finally! For some reason I haven’t been able to get to your blog…

    So glad you finished happy. Really that’s all that matters! I have decided I live in the wrong place to race. Only our half and full marathons give out medals and even then we have a few half marathons that don’t. Maybe if there was bling at the end I’d want to race more 🙂

  10. Brava Fran, congrats on the race. Beautiful medal.

  11. Happy racing Fran! That is pretty sweet medal too!! And your raspberry cake looks mouthwatering. Yum!

Leave a Reply

