Wednesday April 25 – 2012, The workout edition

WARNING: LONG POST!

Thursday

The Firm Express Sculpt. Short weights workout that targeted a little bit of every bodypart.
Total time: 20 minutes.

Friday and Saturday

Rest.

Sunday

Sherpa Ladies Run, for a short recap see my post on Monday.

Garmin time: 00:33:32
Official time: 00:33:42
Place: 510 out of 715.

Photo’s still not online.

Stats:
Weather:dry but also rain, sunny, windy, 10C (50 degrees)
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:33:32
Average time: 06:42 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bonnie Tyler – Holding out for a hero.

Monday

X-TrainFit Arms. Workout completely focussed on triceps, biceps and shoulders. Two sets of exercises. This is really a good program. I like the instructor and there are always 3 people doing various modifications of the exercise. I usually do the most difficult one but if it’s too hard, it’s nice that you can do a modification and still finish the exercise.
Total time: 48 minutes.

Tuesday

First tempo run of my new schedule. I’ll explain next week what a tempo run means for me. Today was the first day I could run outside the village and how I missed that. No traffic, just the early birds and other animals and ¾ of the run daylight. Enjoyed my run very much.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 8C (46 degrees)
Distance: 4.4 K / 2.7 miles
Time: 00:30:04
Average time: 06:50 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Boys Town Gang – Can’t take my eyes of you.

Wednesday

Jillian Michaels Banish Fat Boost Metabolism. This is a cardio workout, it’s split up in 7 circuits of 6 minutes. I didn’t do them all, just 4 out of 7 and the warming-up and cooling down. This is not her best DVD but still okay enough to do it again.
Total time: 37 minutes.

Weekly review

What’s next?

After 2 DNF’s last year (due to the weather) and not starting at the half marathon I signed up in October, I had a kind of mental running breakdown as you know. It has taken me about 6 months to get my running mojo back and after last Sunday I am convinced it’s back.

It’s amazing how fast you can lose your running base if you don’t run enough and it took me a while before I could run 30 minutes straight again (most of that was mental) and last Sunday I ran the 5K without walking.

But most of my runs in the past months have been about the same distance over and over again and the risk of doing that, is that I get bored. And getting bored means skipping workouts in my case. I need a new goal and different kind of runs. Running without looking at the pace helped me a lot in getting my running base back and listen to my body. In that way it has been good I did it.

Till this morning it wasn’t the plan I was going to tell you but my blogger friend Shelley who ran a 5K without breaks in the same week as I did (which we didn’t know from each other), who ran a 5K without walking breaks last weekend too (again we didn’t know), came with an announcement in her post today with her plan which is exactly my plan (yes you’re right: we didn’t know it from each other).

I’m going to train for a half marathon again.

The original plan was to start training for it and mention it a week before it or something like that. R. thinks I shouldn’t do it and work on getting faster on 5K and 10K but running a half marathon is always in the back of my mind. I just want to finish at least one in my life. Right now, I’m injury free, I’m healthy and I did love the training part for the half marathon. But like Shelley, I’ll start with it and see how it goes.

I’ve chosen a very safe plan this time. It’s a 28 week plan but I start at week 4. The reason the program is so long is that you build up the long runs slowly and do most distances 2 or more times which is good for my confidence. I worked it all out considering my vacation in June, recovery weeks and a 10K I do want to do in September. The plan is to run the half in October. I have 6 months to get ready, that may seem long but I like it. I might do some local races during those 6 months but I decided about those a week before the event takes place.

The plan comes with paces you should use at the different kind of runs. I’m going to use the paces that go with a 31 minute time on a 5K. I have never run that time but the paces that go with that I have run a lot during training. The hardest part will be that I have to run slower on my longer runs than I do now. I’ve compared the paces of my program with the McMillan calculator and they correspond a lot.

Of course I’ll keep you posted how it goes in my workout edition posts.

And I’m closing this last post for my running fashionista’s: one of my running sets needed to be replaced and this is the new set I bought. A very light windjacket, a Capri and two sleeveless tops.

 


17 responses to “Wednesday April 25 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. Go for the training. You know, you can always train for something, but it doesn’t mean you have to be committed to the actual event. See how the training goes and don’t put pressure on yourself to do anything but train. Then you can evaluate as you go. It’s nice to have a goal to work on!

  2. Woop! I think that is an awesome goal Fran! Lately my blood sugar hasn’t been high enough for me to run, but when I don’t run for a few days its like starting all over.

  3. Wow, that is so funny – and yes, the half is what I thought you were going to say! I like that both of us are going into this with the attitude of “we’ll see how it goes” rather than “come hell or high water, injury or whatever, I’m going to push through everything to make that race” – and I wonder if a more relaxed attitude will make a difference. We’ll find out, won’t we?!? Very cool – I feel like I’ve got a half marathon training buddy!!!

  4. Great news! I’m betting that you do it this time.

  5. Good for you – I know you can do it! It’s great that you and Shelley will be training for this together – when I did my first half, I was training at the same time as my sisters and my mom, which meant a lot of support throughout. And of course, I will be cheering you on from down south!

  6. Roz@weightingfor50

    Woo Hoo!!!!!! Yay for you Fran!!!! I see many more race medals in your future. Have a great rest of the week.

  7. Good for you Fran! You’re right, you’ve wanted to do it and will be sorry if you don’t at least give it your best try. Here’s to injury free training and a great half marathon!

  8. Great to hear about your goal, Fran! Haven’t you chosen a 21 km race yet? I’d like to run the kasterlee’s half marathon
    http://marathons.ahotu.com/race/1-2-marathon-kasterlee
    Beautiful new running clothes!

  9. Nice new clothes. I love half marathons – well the first ten miles.

    Nice placement in your race! Can’t wait to see the pictures.

  10. I love your new pink jacket and capris! You make me want to buy new running gear.
    I’m excited for your half marathon training to begin! How fun. I hope it goes well and you don’t get burnt out like last time. It sounds like you are in the right frame of mind for it. I just registered for a half at the end of August. I’m worried that it will be too hot but am going to do it anyway. If it ends up being really hot and humid then I’ll just try to take it slower.

  11. This is awesome! I really think you should go for it Fran. Even if you have to walk to finish. Get out there and do it. The feeling of accomplishment will be just what you need. I think you are totally capable and I’m very excited for you.

    On another note … the pink jacket and matching capris, please forward them to me. I think you have my address. HAHAHAHA (totally kidding and totally jealous and in love with your new outfit!)

  12. Great goal, Fran! Wishing you have fun training. That’s the secret to successful races.
    Love the outfit, btw.

  13. Lots of great exercise! So cool how you change it up all the time.

    Yahoo for the half!!! It will be so exciting for you to be able to cross it off your list of achievements.

    The new running clothes are great…love the pink!

  14. Sorry for getting her so late Fran. I just wanted to say how proud I am of you for working on a goal like that. A half marathon is a major accomplishment, in fact any distance is. The fact that you want to do it again after a few bad uncontrollable circumstances proves to me that you have the “fight” in you. You are going to do so great and I am confident that you will make it this time! I’m cheering for you!!!
    xoxo
    P.S. If you need any advice you know where to find me 😉

  15. A very safe plan is a wonderful plan. You are doing the right thing.
    Step by step you will build strength and speed.
    Good luck.

  16. I’m so glad you have decided to train for a half marathon again! Very exciting. Sounds like you have a great plan in place that will work for you. I look forward to following along!

  17. I’m super excited to read that you are training for another half. And I completely know what it’s like to lose your runnign mojo. I’m there now…but since starting my new job it’s hard not to want to run all the time. So glad to hear that you are back at it. You are going to rock it girly!!

Leave a Reply

