Monday April 30, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff:

Poor Bella. Friday I was playing with her with the ball and she seemed to step on something and walked with a limp for a few seconds. But this kept happening Friday and Saturday morning, everytime just for a few seconds. We couldn’t find anything and R. called the vet Saturday morning. Luckily he could come the same morning. I just came home from my run all wet and sweaty and had to shower first so I didn’t go with them.

The vet examined her and said she had a broken toenail and he had to rip it off. He could do it with a local anaesthesia but that would mean she would be sick all day. He said it would only take a minute and R. decided to do it without anaesthesia. He said she screamed and he didn’t like it at all but it was done quickly and after that Bella was fine again. The vet gave her a cool blue bandage and said the toe nail would grow again. I’m glad I wasn’t there because I’m a chicken and am sure it would have broken my heart to see her in pain.

She’s fine now, it doesn’t hurt anymore, it’s still a bit red but it’s not open. She’s back to her old self.

 

After weeks with temperatures colder than normal for this time of year and lots of rain, suddenly today was a gorgeous day with sunshine and temperatures of 24C (74 degrees). Finally no socks or panties and no coat when going out. I love it, especially since it is a national holiday and we didn’t have to work. We spent the day mostly at home, we did go out to a garden centre to buy some plants for our garden. Unfortunately it’s just 1 day because forecast tomorrow is again colder weather with rain.

TV shows I watched last week
Grey’s Anatomy, The Big Bang Theory, Once upon a time, Revenge, King, The Good Wife, 2 Broke Girls, Mad Men, The Mentalist.

I totally missed the start of Mad Men a few years ago on Dutch television and regretted it because it’s got such good critics. The movie channel that we have started airing this show from Season 1 and I watched the first episode and I like it a lot. Going to keep watching this one.

Cross Stitching

This is what I worked on this weekend.

 

Workout results April 2012

Results April:

  • I’m happy with how I did this month.
  • I reached one of my goals which is 30 minutes running without walking.
  • I ran a 5K race and it went fine.
  • I decided to train for a half marathon again.
  • Total time I did something (including walking): 20 hours and 43 minutes.

Workouts April:

Running. Done: 10
Strength training. Done: 4
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: 1
Cardio. Done: 3

Workouts:

Number and time of workouts in March: 20 workouts, total time 11 hours and 32 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in April: 18 workouts, total time 10 hours and 38 minutes.

Running goals:

Yearly mileage
Total April: 55.4 K / 34.2 miles

Total till 04/30: 177.3 K / 110 miles
Total running time: 20 hours and 39 minutes

Races:
April 22: Sherpa Ladies Run, 5K, time 00:33:32.

Personal records I want to achieve:
Run a   5K < 32 minutes
Run a 10K < 1.08
Run 30 minutes without walking -> did it!

 

12 responses to “Monday April 30, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. Great job this month, but poor Bella. I am glad she is back to her old self.

  2. Poor little Bella. I love how animals get hurt and then they act fine. Not like people who mope around and want all kinds of sympathy.

    Are those gerbera daisies? Those are one of my favorites for containers!

    I like Mad Men at first, but then it started to bother me for some reason. I was finding it hard to like any of the characters. I probably should try it again.

  3. Awww poor Bella 😦 That would have broke my heart too. Can’t stand to see my animals or kids hurt.

  4. I couldn’t have stood to be there when the vet did that…glad that R. was able to be the one to deal with it. Poor Bella – I cringed just reading about her trauma!!! Glad she seems to be feeling good now.

    Your flowers are so pretty! Glad you had such perfect weather – hope the rain doesn’t last too long.

    I love Mad Men. Watched it on Netflix, and was so happy when it finally came back on the air.

  5. I am cringing reading this. I would be glad I wasn’t there either.

    I am currently watching old seasons of Private Practice and really enjoying it. Do you watch that?

  6. Poor Bella!
    Yes, the weather was absolutely perfect yesterday! Too bad it was only one day…

  7. yay for bella being back to her old self.
    for me theres nothing sadder than a sick, non-frolicky canine.

  8. Poor Bella. Glad she is ok. I probably would have opted to not have the anaesthisia too.
    I have been watching Mad Men on Netflix. We started it a month or two ago and are on Season 4 now. I don’t think we have too many episodes left though. I think Season 5 is on right now.

  9. Glad to hear that Bella is fine now!
    Thanks to the good season you will be adequately trained for your next half marathon.

  10. I’m with you Fran that would break my heart. I remember when we had to put Tazzie down and I was the one in the room with her, stick breaks my heart thinking about it. I’m glad that Bella is back to her old self!
    Great job on the workouts this month friend!

  11. Roz@weightingfor50

    Just catching up on your last few posts Fran. OMG…poor little Bella. Glad she’s on the mend. (Neva cut her paw pad the other day too…..poor little thing. She and I both have bad feet right now, though she’s none the worse for wear) Have a good Thursday. Hugs to you and a big pat and scratch behind the ear to Bella.

  12. Poor Bella! Glad that now she is fine.

Leave a Reply

