Wednesday May 2 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday & Friday

Rest.

Saturday

I posted on FB Saturday morning: Murphy’s law for runners: The rain will start to fall about 5 minutes into your run, and stop about 5 minutes before you finish.

Well that totally describes the run, not only did it rain (not too hard) but there was a lot of wind. Wind I had to run against the last 3K of the run. Besides the weather it was a great run though. I think I will always prefer rainy runs above runs in warm weather. I took a walk break after 40 minutes and again after 50 minutes. The last break was because I needed a break from running against the wind.

My half marathon plan suggests running the long runs at a pace between 7:12 and 7:27 per km. This is even for me, a slow pace and it’s hard to stick to it. I have decided to try to keep my pace on long runs between 7:00 and 7:10 per km which worked out fine this run.

Stats:
Weather:rain, lots of wind, 10C (50 degrees)
Distance: 9 K / 5.6 miles
Time: 01:04:20
Average time: 07:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Madonna – Like a prayer.

Sunday

Rest

Monday

It was gorgeous weather for a run: sunny, not much wind and not cold. I even had to take my jacket off halfway through the run because I was hot. My first interval training and it was a tough one. My average pace isn’t fast because I had to take some walk breaks after the interval part and even stopped twice to catch my breath. I did 1K for warming up and 1K for cooling down, in between the intervals I ran 400 metres at a slow pace. This one was a pyramid run of 100-200-300-600-300-200-100 metres. My goal was to run the intervals without stopping and at a pace of 5:57-6:12 per km. I reached that goal, I even ran too fast most of the intervals, think that’s why I had to walk that much.

100 time: 5:31
200 time: 5:30
300 time: 5:39
600 time: 5:56
300 time: 5:57
200 time: 5:55
100 time: 5:12

Funny fact: I have a Garmin for about 3 years now and I didn’t figure out till last week how to add an interval workout to it. I used it on this run and it works perfectly.

Stats:
Weather:sunny, not much wind, 14C (57 degrees)
Distance: 6.2 K / 3.8 miles
Time: 00:43:38
Average time: 07:02 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Queen – These are the days of my life.

Tuesday

Did 2 Turbofire workouts. I started with a short HITT workout of 16 minutes followed by a Tone workout of 30 minutes. All exercises were done with a resistance band which can be a very tough workout I found out.
Total time: 46 minutes.

Wednesday


Tempo run today. The tempo runs in the schedule I use are running at a normal pace (6:57-7:12 /km) for a certain time and during that run you have to run 1 or more parts at a faster pace (6:27-6:42 /km). Over the weeks the total time of the run will get longer and so will the tempo parts. Today I had to run 30 minutes and do 3 tempo parts of 3 minutes in that run. It went great. I don’t have to walk anymore on 30 to 35 minutes runs.

Stats:
Weather:fog, not much wind, 10C (50 degrees)
Distance: 4.5 K / 2.8 miles
Time: 00:30:31
Average time: 06:48 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Creedence Clearwater Revival – Bad moon rising.

Weekly review

I feel great. Running 3 times a week and do 2 DVD workouts works perfectly for me. It feels I finally find my workout balance: 5 times a week and early in the morning.

Monday my training plan for the half marathon started. I already signed up for the one I want to do: it’s the half marathon of Amsterdam in October. This is the biggest half marathon (and marathon) in the country with lots of participants from all over the world.

In my plan I built in recovery weeks and planned around our vacation in June.

The actual plan exists of 4 runs a week but 1 run is a kind of recovery run of 20 to 30 minutes which I replace with a DVD workout. This means I will do an interval, tempo and long run every week.

I like the building up of the long runs the most, you take a step back every week or 2 weeks. For example my first weeks looks like this: 11K, 9K, 10K, 11K, 13K, 11K and so on. I don’t have to run a new distance every week but can take my time to get to the 21.1K.

12 responses to “Wednesday May 2 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. looks like you have everything under control Fran. You are going to do great on your half marathon, and a fair amount of time to train for it! Keep up the great work!

  2. Roz@weightingfor50

    You are so fit Fran….such an inspiration. Love the runner shots. Have a great rest of the week.

  3. I remember how hard it was to do my long runs at a slow pace – and for me, that’s saying something! But there must be something behind that theory, so I’m glad you’re trying to do it.

    Also, I’m so happy that you’ve found the balance for exercise each week! You just sound so much more relaxed about it, while enjoying it, too. Perfect!!!

  4. I don’t know how to do an interval workout on my Garmin. You are such a techi!

    Isn’t it fun to have made your mind up about what race you want to do?

  5. Poor little Bella. I’m glad she bounced back so quickly.

    Your running plans sound great. I’ll bet training for that marathon will keep things very interesting.

    I was slow to start watching Mad Men but once I started I whipped right through the first four seasons. I’m watching season 5 in real time now. I love it.

  6. Sounds like a great plan – slow and steady!

  7. Glad to see you excited about running again and hitting your training goals!

  8. You are working hard. Congrats.
    Think of wind as your friend who wants you to become stronger. (I am still working on *that* friendship.)
    Garmin is an amazing tool for serious training. Have you tried virtual partner yet for tempo runs?

  9. You are doing so well with your running! You sound like you have a great plan for your half so you should be very successful.

    Hope Bella is feeling all better with her foot.

  10. Ignore me. I’m just here to steal your running mojo 😉

  11. onelittletrigirl

    I dont mind running in the rain, but I hate starting in the rain! There are lots of races in NJ, where the rain is is welcome- too much humidity!!!!!

  12. That is a very good plan. As you know I love to run in the rain mainly in this season.

Leave a Reply

