Monday May 7, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff:
Saturday evening we had a birthday party for our friend B. (he’s one of R’s best friends and the husband of my friend T.). B. turned 50. In Holland that’s a milestone. The tradition is that we say that the person who turns 50 becomes Abraham (a women becomes a Sarah, related to Abraham and Sarah from the bible). This includes putting a doll in the front yard representing that person’s life and interests:

The doll in front of the house

 

In my country we honor someone who turns 50 because they have gained wisdom and experience and the 50th birthday is for most of us a major birthday. At B.’s birthday his brothers and sisters had made a little poem and by the end of the poem he was dressed up like an old man:

 

The birthday boy before they dressed him up

And after

Then we splitted up in 2 groups: the people who weren’t 50 yet and the ones who already were 50 and sang a song about leaving your fourties and entering your fifties.

We had a great party and I laughed a lot. Again we were home late and in bed by 3.30 am but this time I took it very easy on the wine and was just a bit tired on Sunday.

My 2 friends and me

TV shows I watched last week
Grey’s Anatomy, Once upon a time, Revenge, Touch, King, The Good Wife, Mad Men.

Dinner

Sunday

I stapled the food for dinner: cooked potato slices, spinach, mushrooms, tomato, pork tenderloin and some pepper sauce on top.

For dessert I made French toast which I served with some raspberry/vanilla icecream and fresh strawberries and blueberries.

12 responses to “Monday May 7, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. What a fun time! B certainly does not look 50, that’s for sure!

  2. What an interesting tradition! And when you say “doll”, you mean life-sized! Very fun.

    I want your dessert – all of it. Looks absolutely delicious!

    How have you been enjoying Mad Men? The new episode comes on Sunday nights here, but I record it and watch it on Monday while I knit. (also, I don’t have Jeff around, who doesn’t watch the show, interruping me asking “who’s that? why’s she doing this?”)

  3. In bed by 3:30. You are a wild woman!

    Love the idea of the doll in the yard dressed up to represent the person ……….and then dressing them up. We had posters on our doors today to represent us and I loved what a student did about me.

  4. Sounds like you guys had a fun time! They say Abraham and Sarah when you turn 50 here, too, although most 50 year olds really don’t look that old anymore these days!

  5. I’d like to have that dessert with icecream and fresh strawberries … although I’m trying to lose weight 🙂
    What a great party! That Dutch tradition, related to person who turns 50, is really nice.

    A 12 km race will be held in South Tuscany on Juin, 10th (during your vacation in Italy). If you want to make the registration you could send an e-mail: iscrizionirunrace@libero.it

    http://www.podisticasolidarieta.it/podistica/home.nsf/web-schedegare/063C13869C5D6244C12579F30047F821

    I think that your running shoes will be in your luggage 🙂

  6. I love it when you share your traditions Fran. Also, I had to laugh about how you said you got home at 3:30 am. The only way it’s possible for me to stay up that late is to either be traveling (like I was on Friday night) or having had drank gallons and gallons of caffeinated coffee!

  7. The party sounds like a great time. What a fun tradition!

  8. I love your tradition of putting the old man in the front yard. How funny. Sounds like you had a super time celebrating his birthday with family and friends. 3:30am Wow!

  9. What an interesting tradition! I still have six years to go before turning 50 – wow, that seems a lot closer now that I typed that out!

    Glad you took it easy on the wine – I’ll take tired over hung over any day. 😀

  10. Roz@weightingfor50

    Oh how fun!!!!!! Makes me look forward to turning 50.
    Hope you are having a great week Fran!!!

  11. What a unique tradition. Your weekends always sound like so much fun.

  12. A very beautiful celebration. I didn’t know about this tradition.
    Unfortunately I turned 50 more than 5 years ago!

Leave a Reply

