Wednesday May 9 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday

 

Did a workout from The Firm: Total Body Toner. A complete body workout with weights. Nice workout.
Total time: 40 minutes.

Friday

Rest.

Saturday

I had 11K planned but the past couple of days I didn’t feel well. I decided to go out and try it anyway but it wasn’t working. My right calf was bothering me a lot too. Some days it just isn’t happening and you have to take your “loss” which I did. At least I did something.

Stats:
Weather:dry, clouds, windy, 10C (50 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:23:11
Average time: 07:15 /km
Average speed: 8.28 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: The Village People – YMCA.

Sunday

Rest.

Monday

Great run! I saw my first sunrise of this year, weather was perfect for running and I made some new friends: sheep and lambs. They were on a closed bike/walking path where they sometimes let them walk free. You can still walk/bike/run if that’s the case.

I had to do a climax run of 100-100-200-200-300-400-600 intervals. Today went better than last week. I only had two walking breaks and stopped briefly to take a pic of the lambs. I love interval training, it is the hardest run of the week but because of the intervals the run goes by very fast. Pace for intervals: 5:57-6:12

100 time: 5:56
100 time: 5:47
200 time: 5:59
200 time: 6:00
300 time: 6:09
400 time: 6:08
600 time: 6:03

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 5C (41 degrees)
Distance: 6.3 K / 3.9 miles
Time: 00:43:29
Average time: 06:54 /km
Average speed: 8.69 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: James Blunt – Stay the night.

Tuesday

P90X Shoulders & Arms. I love this program. Sure I can’t do all the reps yet, I don’t use heavy weights but I’m noticing I’m getting stronger and can do more reps. Not only with this program but with all my other weights workouts too.
Total time: 60 minutes.

Wednesday

 

My second worse run of this year. When I got up this morning I wasn’t feeling well but decided to go out for a run and see how it would go. Well it didn’t. Immediately after I started I felt terrible but I kept trying, I had a tempo run of 30 minutes to do. But after 10 minutes or so the cold sweat was on my back and I had splitting headache. Because I didn’t want to walk all the way back I kept running at a very slow pace and took a shorter route home. When I got home I was ready to call in sick at work but both R. and I aren’t people who do that easily. I decided to take a shower first and strangely enough after that I felt a lot better. Still not a 100% but much better now.

Stats:
Weather:some rain, bit windy, 5C (41 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:24:19
Average time: 07:36 /km
Average speed: 7.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: I have no idea.

Weekly review

Except for Saturday and today when I wasn’t feeling well, I’m very happy with my other workouts this week.

16 responses to “Wednesday May 9 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. You’ve kind of been all over the place this week with your running! I hope the next few are better for you.

    I love the baby lambs. I would have to stop and pet them!

  2. Looks like a decent week despite the running being a bit all over the place – keep at it and you’ll find things settle down. An hour of P90X? NOt bad at all!

  3. Yay for feeling stronger! That is awesome! Keep up with the weights 😀

    I hope your calf feels better. Nagging injuries stink.

  4. Good runs, bad runs – it’s so interesting how they come and go. Hope you are feeling better!

    Oh, and I love that you got to run with the lambs and mama – your countryside runs are just so pretty!

  5. I’d rather listen to James Blunt than The Village People. Just saying!

    I usually listen to podcasts. My current favorite singer is Adele but I liked her before all her awards!

  6. Some weeks are like that…but you got some good exercise in. Yay for getting stronger!!!

    Love the little lambs. So cute!

  7. Love the sheep and lambs. So cute.
    You are getting good exercise and running often is like that, some runs are excellent and then for no reason, some suck. Mine seem to suck these days. 😦

  8. See? I might actually run if I’d stumble upon lambs and goats!

  9. The lambs are adorable! If I saw lambs where I run I’d be calling the police to report run aways lol!

    Running has such an ebb and flow. The main thing is to not let the bad ones get you down because you know there will be a good one right around the corner.

  10. Hope you’re feeling better soon Fran. Sounds like maybe you catch some kind of a bug. The sheep are so cute!

  11. I Hope you are feeling better and running again through your wonderful countryside!
    Nice picture of the lambs!

  12. I can’t remember the last time I took a sick day for myself – usually I use them up to go on appointments for my husband.

    Hope you are feeling better – love the sheep!

  13. You’ve got a great attitude about those runs that didn’t how perfectly. And your other workouts are stellar. Way to go Fran! Great week.

  14. Nice job on the interval workout! Those are always my favourite.

    God for you getting out there when you weren’t feeling well… at least you tried and did something!

  15. Glad you feel better. It is terrible to run with the headache.
    I would like to run with a camera to take pictures during the workouts, there are many situations/things that deserve to be photographed but it is difficult to run with a camera (or I/pod) in the hand.

  16. I like the new look & concept of the blog!

    Glad you treated yourself to some tasty chocolates for Mother’s Day – well deserved!

Leave a Reply

