Monday May 14, 2012: The Mishmash Edition

Daily stuff:
As you can see I’ve got a new blog lay-out. Time for a change as this blog is changing because of a new project I’m starting but mostly because of a new attitude.

The biggest change is the title of my blog. I’ve changed it in “Dutch girl is healthy”.

I’m turning 44 next week and in the past decade I’ve tried so many diets and nothing really worked. I did manage to lose 10 kg (22 lbs) in those 10 years. I’m done with dieting but even more done with the whole weight loss thing.

All I want to do as of today is to live a happy, healthy life. I am healthy, I run and exercise 5 times a week and I love my life. Most of the times I’m very happy with the way I look. My body is stronger than it has ever been in my life. Why waist 10 more years focusing on a number on the scale, it’s all about how I feel. I haven’t reached my goal weight yet and maybe I never will but for now I’m perfectly fine with that. I will eat as healthy as possible and keep running and do my workout DVD’s.

I don’t want to get healthy anymore, I already am.

I saw Julie & Julia Thursday night and I loved this movie. Those of you who have seen it will know that Julie cooks all recipes from a cookbook from Julia within a year and blogs about it. It inspired me and made me think about a cooking project for myself. I’m still working on the details but all will revealed in my Friday’s post.

Friday night we had a wedding to go to. A friend of R. whom he knows for over 30 years got married. He’s over 50 and this is his second partner but his first marriage. The party was a traditional Dutch wedding party: music and dancing. His wife sang a Dutch song for him, translated title: I love you. It made him cry but it made me cry too. It was so sweet to see and she’s a good singer too.
But, as you know me, it wasn’t an early night. This time I was in bed at 1 am but it was worth it, it was a beautiful wedding.

Yesterday it was Mother’s Day (which, of course, you all know) and I bought chocolate at a chocolate store for both our Mom’s. It look like a bouquet but it was made of paper with chocolates in it. You can’t see it very well because of the plastic wrapping paper but it looked very pretty.

I bought 10 chocolates for us too because this shop is really expensive. But the chocolate is sooooooo good, it was worth the money. It has been in my village for almost a year and I had never been there before.

Movies I’ve seen last week

Julie & Julia

What a great feel good movie, I loved it!

TV shows I watched last week
Grey’s Anatomy, Revenge, The Mentalist, Once upon a time, Mad Men.

Knitting update
Almost done with the back of the sweater. I hope to finish it this week.

18 responses to “Monday May 14, 2012: The Mishmash Edition

  1. The whole first part of this post made me smile from ear to ear Fran. So happy you are coming to terms and finding peace in the process!

    You KNOW I loved Julie & Julia too. It’s a movie I can watch over and over.

    That chocolate looks magnificent – enjoy every bite!

    • I thought of you while watching the movie. You love to cook and I knew you would have seen it and loved it.

      Still 2 chocolates left, we’re taking just 1 a day 🙂

  2. I love the way you are thinking…..not worth that number on the scale. I stopped weighing myself October last year as that number drives one crazy.
    I personally think you are going to have a lot less stress in ur life….and lose the weight 🙂

  3. I love the new blog layout, name and your new attitude! You are healthy and I’m glad you are happy too!
    Those chocolates look incredible! You’re making me hungry.
    I’ve never seen Julie & Julia but I did want to see it. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. Yay Fran! Funny how you posted this because I have a similar thing I am going to talk about today. We are pretty much twins lately (and even age and birthdays awful close together). Sure you aren’t thinking of moving to upstate NY?

    Those chocolates look amazing! I would have eaten them all myself 😀

    Fun layout for the blog – it’s summery!

    • We sure are twins. What about you moving to Holland 🙂 bikers paradise here.

      I share the chocolates with R. and we eat just 1 a day. Still 2 left for the both of us.

  5. Oh I love the new blog layout and colors!!! So, so pretty. 🙂

    You know, I haven’t weighed myself since last September. I’m so much happier not having my day depend on a number – and while some people can rely on the scale as just a tool, for me it just messed with my mind too much. After I stopped with that, I became more focused on living a healthy life, and it’s been great. I’m so pleased that you have come to this conclusion as well – life is too damn short to always be on a diet. Healthy and fit is what’s important, and you, my friend, ARE healthy and fit – and you look darn good in your clothes, too!

    Congratulations on reaching this turning point.

    • Thank you sweety. You were one of the people who made me think about this and help me make the decision to focus on other things. Glad we’re blogger friends.

  6. That chocolate looks so good! And I loved Julie and Julia. After I saw it I went and saw Julia’s kitchen at the Smithsonian. That was pretty cool. And your attitude about loving your body and health is great – truly great.

  7. The new blog layout is great and I love the name change…I updated my link to reflect your new name!

    I think it is wonderful to accept yourself exactly the way you are! 😀

    The chocolates look lovely and I am sure your mothers enjoyed theirs as much as you enjoyed yours.

    The movie Julie and Julia was great…Meryl Streep was just fabulous!

  8. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. LOVE the new layout!!! And the name change…EXCELLENT. you ARE healthy and a role model for me. Your new outlook is wonderful and we should all take a page from your book. I’m 100% with you on the Julie and Julia thing…I read the book before I watched the film, but I liked the both for different reasons. Have a wonderful birthday week, let the celebrations begin, and may the year ahead be your best EVER. Hugs.

  9. love the post.
    love the layout.
    love that youre a year older than I am 🙂
    and the name change? PERFECTION.

  10. Thank you dear Miz.

  11. I LOVE the new layout – so much easier to read, or I am just old! 😀 But wait, then I would be calling you old since we are the same age – and we are not old!

    I love the message in this post. Since I started my “Inspirational Diet” it’s been a whole new mind frame for me. No longer am I thinking about what I can’t have to lose weight, it’s what I can have and move that will get me to my goal.

    Hugs!

  12. This is the right spirit, brava! 5 times a week is a great routine: it keeps you healthy and in perfect shape.
    I love that chocolate.

  13. I love what you said about sick of dieting but ready to live a healthy life. You are an inspiration everyday with all your fitness! Love the blog changes and name change. Happy (almost) Birthday Fran!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

