Wednesday May 16 – 2012, The Workout Edition

Thursday

Yogalates Energizer, lower body. After not feeling too well on Wednesday this was just the workout I need.
Total time: 32 minutes.

Friday

Rest.

Saturday

 

It’s becoming more a normal thing than an exception: a bad run. I had a wedding the night before, I took it easy on the alcohol but we went to bed late and I was on my feet (high heels) all night. I woke up tired but did go out for a run because the weather was gorgeous. But it didn’t go well, I was tired and my calf was hurting again.

But enough with the excuses. I’m going to take better care of myself and my calf and plan my runs better. If I have a party or something I will plan my run before the party instead of the day after.

Stats:
Weather:dry, sunny, windy, 10C (50 degrees)
Distance: 3.8 K / 2.3 miles
Time: 00:28:49
Average time: 07:35 /km
Average speed: 7.91 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Michael Jackson – Off the wall

Sunday

Rest

Monday

 

 

Chalean time. I did 2 workouts. The first was Burn it off and is a HITT workout. Great workout although I said no to the burpees she offered. Those are so hard (right Shelley?). I still can’t do them. After that I did a workout called Recharge that is a stretch workout for about 20 minutes. So good, I love a good stretch every now and then.
Total time: 47 minutes.

Tuesday

This was taken at 6 am, I love it how light it is during my morning runs now.

 

Tempo run. Total running time went to 35 minutes this week (last week 30 minutes) and the tempo intervals from 3 to 4 minutes. Today I had to do 1 tempo interval of 4 minutes (next week 2 and so on).
This was a good run! I felt good (except from soreness in my but from Monday’s workout) and my calf didn’t hurt at all. Came home happy!

Stats:
Weather:dry, bit of wind, 8C (46 degrees)
Distance: 5.1 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:35:16
Average time: 06:55 /km
Average speed: 8.68 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Melissa Etheridge – I run for life.

Wednesday

 X-TrainFit Cardio. I did some other workouts from this program, that were weight workouts for a particular body part. Today it was just Cardio and I found this workout pretty boring. A lot of the same and all cardio (like jumping jacks, speed skaters, and so on). Since I’m a believer that you have to do something you like otherwise you probably stop doing it, I won’t do this workout again.
Total time: 46 minutes.

Weekly review

I switched my runs this week. Normally I run on Monday and Wednesday but this week on Tuesday and Thursday. This is because tomorrow it’s Ascension Day which is a Christian holiday here in Holland, which means my weekend has already started today. My company is closed on Friday (so is R’s) and we have a 4-day weekend.

Poor Bella, I haven’t walked with her that much. We did short walks everyday but I only “count” the longer walk in a day. I just didn’t feel much like walking, especially not at the weekend. I’ll make it up to her next week.

I want to thank you all for your positive and lovely comments on my Monday post. I still think I made the right decision. Come back on Friday when I reveal my new project that is all about cooking.

 

15 responses to “Wednesday May 16 – 2012, The Workout Edition

  1. Heck yeah, I’m with ya on the no burpees thing…the only way I’ll do another one is if someone is standing over me with a whip…or a stopwatch.

    I’ve noticed that I’m becoming more protective of my feet and legs since I started back to running – if I know I have a run, say, tomorrow, I will try to not only stay off of my feet, but also, wear really comfortable shoes. Anything to make it a better run, you know? And I have to add that I’m impressed you even tried to run after standing in heels all evening at a reception!

  2. Beautiful photos!! Sorry your runs haven’t been as good lately. I’m glad you still get out there though.
    I’m looking forward to hearing more about your new project. I love to cook. 🙂

  3. Beautiful pictures today, and I love the new layout. I’m too lazy these days to change mine. Sorry you’ve been having some crappy runs lately. We’ve all been there (a few times). And thank you for your comments on my blog. She is a beautiful dog, isn’t she? I’m so glad I “took her over”.

  4. Maybe you need another day off or so to make sure you are okay. You don’t want a little nagging something to turn into a chronic something.

    I don’t like the burpees that much either. They are part of this months workouts for me, so I do them, but I am not likely to put them into my self-designed workouts LOL!

  5. Roz@weightingfor50

    WOW, gorgeous photos Fran. You certainly live in a BEAUTIFUL part on the world. I think yogalates sounds fantastic. I must look out for that and try it. Have a good Thursday.

  6. Nice photos! And get Bella out there for a long walk. If we lived near each other we could walk Jax and Bella together. Jax loves new friends!

  7. Love the new layout. Very fresh. I’m very happy for you that you have gotten to a place where you can take the focus off the number on the scale. I will be supremely grateful if I ever get to that place.

    I loved Julie and Julia too. I thought it was funny and smart and I learned a great trick for cooking mushrooms from that movie!

    Cant wait to hear about your new project 🙂

  8. I do burpees and agree they tough…I see the members faces in my class when I do them….they not happy at all 🙂
    Well done on ur weeks training…

  9. Good job on your workouts. How many different workout videos do you have?
    Julie and Julia – what a fun movie. I don’t think there is a role in this world Meryl Streep cannot play.
    Nice pictures.

  10. First of all, love the new look to your blog!!! Second – I hate burpees – absolutely hate them!
    Finally, I totally agree with you on what you wrote about having a healthy life as opposed to chasing some number on the scale. Life is just too short, isn’t it?

    Enjoy the long weekend!

  11. I know I’ve said this before, but I really like the variety in your workouts! And I like that you don’t do workouts again that you don’t enjoy!

    Enjoy your long weekend!

  12. Many clouds in those beautiful pictures.
    You are doing the right thing: better to run before a party than the day after. I always do it because I need to rest after a long night.

  13. You are definitely correct – planning is key when it comes to running. For optimal runs you have to create optimal conditions for your body. HOWEVER, even when you’ve done everything you can sometimes you’re just going to have a bad run. Perhaps you need to redefine what a bad run is too… are you basing that on pace alone? I know I’ve had bad runs that were fast but I felt crappy the whole time and great runs that were slower. If I get too concentrated on my pace per mile, I can ruin a run every time!

    Burpees. UGH. But guess what? This week was burpee week at the dojo. I lost count of how many of them I did.

  14. Great week of workouts! I’m proud of you! And your photos are always so beautiful.

  15. Of course I’ll follow your new project, Fran. Interesting pictures!

    Have nice runs!

Leave a Reply

