Friday May 18, 2012: The Food Edition

As mentioned in my post on Monday, I was inspired by the movie Julie & Julia to make my own cooking project. Well here it is:

Fran’s cook book project:

365 days
69 cook books
212 recipes

32 cooking magazines (12 x koken & genieten, 8 x Jamie, 12 x Light koken)
64 recipes

Total number of recipes to cook: 276

I have written before that I have about 80 cook books. Some of them I haven’t used although I have them for years. My project is to use 69 of my cook books in the next year and cook 2 to 3 recipes from every book. I also have a subscription to three cooking magazines and I want to cook at least 2 recipes from every new issue before the next one comes out.

I love to cook and I’ve said more than once I want to use my cook books more but I still don’t do that enough. The project starts Tuesday May 22. This is my birthday and I thought that is a perfect date to start with the project.

 

It may seem a lot of recipes, after all a year has 365 days, but the recipe can be anything: breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, pie or cake, snacks. It will happen I use more than 1 recipe a day.

I’m not going to post the recipes on my blog because all my cook books are in Dutch and we use different measures. It’s too much work to translate them and recalculate the ingredients. But I will look up on the internet if a recipe I made is online and if so, I will post the link.

My Friday post will be called “The Food Edition” as of today. I have made a new page where I will update the progress weekly.

Hope you will enjoy this cook journey with me.

Have a great weekend!

19 responses to “Friday May 18, 2012: The Food Edition

  1. sounds like a great idea!!!! I know if you are anything like me you use the same reciepe over and over…it’s great to add variety!!! Exciting!

  2. Good luck! I am not a cook at all. But I enjoy a good cooked meal. 🙂

  3. That’s a great idea! I’m terrible at following recipes although I do use a lot of recipes and Food Network shows (which I watch at the gym on the elliptical) as inspiration for our meals.

    I think I’ll make a much smaller scale plan (maybe one recipe per week) for myself.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. You have a love of cooking and trying new things – this is the perfect challenge for you!

  5. Inspired by that movie indeed – that’s a whole lot of cooking. But I’d venture to say you’re going to have a lot of fun doing it!

  6. Wow! That is a lot of recipes. I am flying over to live with you for a while and I will taste test 😀

  7. Oh sounds exciting. Once in a while I decide I should put my cookbooks to good use. I pull them out, tag a bunch of recipes, then put them away. I’m way too disorganized for that. Plus we rarely ever have a full family sit down for dinner so I don’t always cook. Although I suppose I could try something new at least once a week.

  8. What a fun idea! Can’t wait to see all you make.
    I don’t think I could do this because I am not one to follow a recipe. I can if it’s something unusual or if it’s a baked good but otherwise I just get inspiration from cooking books/magazines and then make it up as I go along. It’s my husbands fault that I do this but it’s fun.

  9. Sounds like great fun! I will look forward to your cooking adventures!

  10. Great idea, Fran!!!

  11. What a fun idea!! I will be excited to hear what your favorites are! Fun fun fun!

  12. I love this idea! Fantastic! And I love how you’ve revamped your blog AND how you think of yourself. Inspiring!

    I have most of those cookbooks and they are great – I say just GO for it!

  13. I love your idea. I can’t wait to hear about the new recipes. I am so guilty of having many cookbooks and quite a few cooking magazines , and not trying new recipes. I seem to get stuck in a rut, and do the same thing, over and over. I love your cookbook project. Maybe it will inspire me to try to recipes too.

  14. I love this idea and I can’t wait to follow along. It is such a fun and positive way to focus on food. At first I thought you were going to say you were going to make every dish in Jamie’s 30 minute meals. I’d be down for that too!

  15. Great project. Do it, please!

  16. I am so happy happy happy when I don’t have to make dinner. To me this is a very ambitious goal. I salute you!

  17. oooh and this notgreatorcreative cookerbaker awaits the friday post.

  18. I love that idea! I just wish my husband was open to more things – he doesn’t do a lot of ethnic food, and of course, can’t handle the spice like I can!

    Looking forward to your recipes!!

  19. I love cookbooks. I like looking at them, I love the pictures, I love getting recipe ideas… I hate following them. My cooking is all about experimentation (my poor family) so I can never make the same thing twice. Oh, well, that’s how I am.

Leave a Reply

