Friday May 24, 2012: The Food Edition

Fran’s cook book project:

Days left to finish the project: 362 days

70 cook books
215 recipes

32 cooking magazines (12 x koken & genieten, 8 x Jamie, 12 x Light koken)
64 recipes

Total number of recipes to cook: 279
Number of recipes I made: 3

Saturday

I made a salad for lunch. This salad was something I ate a few times during my low carb period and I still use it from time to time because it’s delicious. You use rocket salad, bacon, pine nuts and cherry tomatoes. You make a dressing of extra vergine olive oil, basalmico vinegar and salt and pepper.

For dinner I made a BLT-sandwich and added some avocado.

Sunday

Dinner was a pasta dish with white asparagus, ham, onion, cherry tomatoes and asparagus sauce. So delicious!

 

Monday

I had white asparagus left because I didn’t use them all on Sunday, I also had some left over sauce and ate it with a grilled steak and baked potatoes.

 

Tuesday

Let the challenge begin, day 1 of Fran’s cook book project.

I started with a recipe I’ve used a lot before but we both love it: Spaghetti alla carbonara. Simple, definitely not that healthy, but very tasty.

Ingredients: Spaghetti, bacon, Parmezan cheese, cream, egg and garlic.

 And since it was my birthday: the birthday cake

 

Wednesday

 

Day 2 and a new recipe from a cook book from Jamie Oliver, Jamie’s Ministry of Food. Sweet and Sour pork.

Ingredients: basmati rice, pork, red onion, yellow pepper, garlic, ginger, pineapple, soy sauce, Chinese five-spices powder, coriander.

 

I found the recipe on the internet too, you can find it here

Thursday

 

I made Sloppy Joe Burgers for dinner from a cook book by a Dutch cook. At the moment he has his own TV channel with only cooking programs. I like to watch this every now and then. I don’t think I have to explain what a Sloppy Joe Burger is because, if I’m correct, it’s a well known recipe in the USA.

Upcoming weekend

We have another long weekend. Today is my regular day off. It’s Whitsun which means Monday is a public holiday. It’s not that hot anymore but temperatures that I like more with lots of sunshine. Going to be outside a lot this weekend.

Tomorrow evening we have a work party of R’s work with a BBQ. The rest of the weekend I don’t have anything planned yet.

And I want to give a big shout out to my friend Syl. She’s running her first marathon next Sunday.

Syl, you’re ready, you can do this and you will do this. Enjoy the run. You’ll be in my thoughts.

18 responses to “Friday May 24, 2012: The Food Edition

  1. Oh my goodness..I should of come to your house to eat this week. Everything looks so amazingly yummy ;-).
    Thank you for your kind words Fran. I’m nervous, scared but also excited and just ready to get this show on the road already ;-).

  2. Your recipes look great! a nice variety over the week.

  3. Congratulations on kicking off the cookbook project! What a great idea. It will be fun to “force” yourself to try all those new recipes. Looking good so far!!

  4. Hurray for long weekends! Your food looks so good – this seems like a fun project for you. 🙂

  5. I have just finished my breakfast and now, after looking at your pictures, I am getting hungry. I better go for a walk or something. 🙂

  6. Great meals! Love the cookbook project!!! And, yes, it serves as a reminder that I have to mix things up a bit more around here!

    Have a great weekend!

  7. Man – I need to move over there! You are so ambitious with this cooking! And did you bake your own birthday cake?

    Sloppy joes are really popular around here, but most people use a canned mix (lame, isn’t it?). They are also called Manwiches after the brand.

  8. Loving this food challenge! Your photos make me hungry and will inspire me for sure. We have bacon in the fridge and now I want a blt with avocado.

  9. Those look like great recipes–wide variety! I love Jamie Oliver. I’m impressed you are taking this on–quite a project!

  10. Your meals look so good. I really like that you give the ingredients of your new recipes. Thanks.
    Yes, sloppy joes burgers are known in the U.S. I had them growing up, but now it isn’t very popular. But they are very good.
    Have a great weekend.

  11. Everything looks good but the sloppy joes. They just don’t do it for me. They had them at hot lunch when I was a kid in grade school and I have never liked them since.

  12. Everything looks fabulous…I want the steak and white asparagus…yum! Great job on the recipes Fran!

  13. U sure enjoying ur cooking, I need some of ur love for food to come my way as I am not a cook and now with only eating clean, no sugar, grains or gluten my choices are even less so tougher when cooking.

  14. What a great food week you had. So much variety. I’m really looking forward to following you through your year of recipes.

    I miss Syl! I wish she would still blog. I’m sure she will rock that marathon.

  15. Good luck to Syl!!!

    We have Monday off too and are looking forward to the awesome weather!

  16. I am hungry now, those dishes of pasta and grilled steak+potatoes look delicious!!!

  17. What a beautiful salad! It looks delicious!

    Your office with decoration is nice … your colleagues are very kind!

  18. Yep – I am definitely going to love your Friday posts! I love Jamie Oliver – his passion for good, healthy cooking is infectious! That being said, a good pasta carbonara is heaven on a plate!

Leave a Reply

