Wednesday May 30 – 2012, The Workout Edition

Thursday
Went out at 5.30 am and within 5 minutes I was so sweaty. It was extremely humid and not nice to run in. I had a 35 minute tempo run planned but I made it an easy one of 20 minutes.

Stats:
Weather:dry, very humid, no wind, 18C (64 degrees)
Distance: 3 K / 1.8 miles
Time: 00:20:54
Average time: 06:58 /km
Average speed: 8.61 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: The Animals – We gotta get out of this place.

Friday
Rest.

Saturday

 

This was a tough one. It was already 20C (68 degrees) when I started my run at 8 am and by the time I got back it was 24C (75 degrees). It was sunny and there was hardly any wind. Where I live there are not many trees (as you can see in the pics) and you’re running most of the times without any shadow. Between 2 and 6K I had the wind in my back which made it harder. That’s where I got signs of a heat-stroke: headache, shivering, disorientated. I’ve had this before and know what to do: slow down and drink. I used my 2K walk strategy but adjusted that to walking after every 1K after 6K. I kept skipping songs on my Ipod till I got to the songs that motivate me most. All I wanted to do is finish this run, pace or time wasn’t important, and I did. When I got home I sat in the garden in the garden in the shadow for almost an hour to cool down. It’s obvious I’m not a warm weather runner.

Stats:
Weather:dry, sunny, bit wind, 22C (71 degrees)
Distance: 11 K / 6.8 miles
Time: 01:21:08
Average time: 07:23 /km
Average speed: 8.13 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Chicago – Saturday in the park

Sunday
Rest

Monday
Another warm day and a perfect day for a short and easy run.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 22C (71 degrees)
Distance: 4 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:29:14
Average time: 07:18 /km
Average speed: 8.21 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Freestylers – Push up

Tuesday
Zumba Cardio Party. Somehow I never got the rhytm of the workout and I didn’t really feel like doing it either. Guess it just wasn’t my day and I stopped before the DVD was finished. Better luck next time.
Total time: 34 minutes.

Wednesday
An unexpected rest day. I’m so tired. Most people get energy from warm weather and sunshine. I don’t, warm weather sucks the energy out of me and after a couple of days I get very tired. I’m taking another rest day tomorrow because I have a long day ahead of me. Have to take notes at a meeting outside the office from 9 till 3 and after that we get a Weber BBQ workshop (we sell Weber’s in our stores). I probable won’t be home before 9 pm.

Weekly review
I have decided to postpone my half marathon training plan till after we get back from our vacation. We will leave in 1.5 week and I pick up my half marathon training in week 26. From that point I still have 4 months to get ready for the half marathon and plenty of time. Till we leave I will do short runs on weekdays and a 10K in the weekend.

 

Workout results May 2012

Results May:

  • I’m happy with my results this month.
  • I did a little bit better than in April, more workouts and a higher mileage.
  • Next month will have less workouts because we have our vacation.
  • Total time I did something (including walking): 22 hours and 45 minutes.

Workouts May:

Running. Done: 12
Strength training. Done: 3
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: 1
Cardio. Done: 4

Workouts:

Number and time of workouts in April: 18 workouts, total time 10 hours and 38 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in May: 20 workouts, total time 12 hours and 58 minutes.

Running goals:

Yearly mileage

Total May: 66.7 K / 41.1 miles

Total till 05/31: 244 K / 152 miles
Total running time: 28 hours and 35 minutes

Races:
None.

Personal records I want to achieve:
Run a   5K < 32 minutes
Run a 10K < 1.08

 

10 responses to “Wednesday May 30 – 2012, The Workout Edition

  1. Glad you took it easy on that hot run. Heat stroke is nothing to mess around with. My coworker and I ran yesterday and it was so hot/humid that we took a few walk breaks. I had water with me but it was still really intense. My body is not quite used to it yet.

  2. So interesting to see what you think is warm or hot weather. I ran this morning and it was 72 degrees at 4:45 am already and pretty humid. I kept thinking how perfect it was 🙂

    You will definitely be fine with a 4 month half plan. I have never done anything longer than 12 or 16 weeks!

  3. If you don’t like warm weather, you should come here 🙂 Then I can take Miss Bella on hikes with me.

    My boss is one his way to Arizona where the high temperatures for the next few days are between 38° and 43°C

  4. Yeah I’m not crazy about hot runs at all. Tonight I was ever so sweaty from a very short easy run. Enjoy your vacation.

  5. Dang Fran, you and I are almost dead even with our mileage this month! Running twins!!! Except for that whole “heat” thing – when you come to Texas, it’s going to have to be in the winter so we can run together. And by winter, I mean December through March. Although that’s not a guarantee of cool weather…

    I think it’s wise to wait on the half training until after your vacation. You are going to run in Italy though, right? I would, just to say I did! 🙂

  6. Looking at your pictures reminds me of Iowa or Kansas – all flat (only there is no corn LOL). I love trees. I bet you would like running in our area because there are a lot of paths with tree shade, which makes the hills bearable.

  7. Roz@weightingfor50

    I’m like you Fran…my energy is zapped when its hotter than normal. Glad you got some workouts in though, and LOVE the cloud shots. I know I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again, you live in a beautiful part of the world. Hope you have a great Thursday.

  8. Great to see your training month is better than last month…..
    I’ve found when I run on flats my times are so much faster than my trail forest runs, due to the hills. With holland being flat you should be able to reach your personal goals!
    Vacations time soon, so exciting,
    My neighbor leaves on Friday for a week vacation….

  9. I think you did great last week considering the weather which was definitely not your cup of tea! I know what you mean about being tired after a few of those hot days – makes me very lazy!

  10. smart smart with the postponing the training, too.
    I caint wait to live VACATION’vicariously.

Leave a Reply

