Friday June 1, 2012: The Food Edition

Fran’s cook book project:

Days left to finish the project: 355 days
70 cook books
215 recipes

32 cooking magazines (12 x koken & genieten, 8 x Jamie, 12 x Light koken)
64 recipes

Total number of recipes to cook: 279
Number of recipes I have made: 5

Friday

 I tried something new: quinoa. I’ve had it in my cupboard for a few months now but hadn’t tried it yet. I found a recipe in a cooking magazine my grocery store gives away for free every month and I tried it.

Ingredients: quinoa, pine nuts, red onion, carrot, chicken breast, raisins and fresh spinach.

It was surprisingly tasteful. The raisins made the dish a little sweet which I like. I made two portions because it said it was good to eat cold for lunch too and I ate the second portion on Saturday for my lunch. Still tasteful.

Saturday

We had a BBQ from R.’s work. I didn’t take pictures there because I didn’t want to get questions why I did that. The food wasn’t very special anyway and not really worth taking pictures of either.

Sunday

I made blueberry pancakes from Jamie’s Happy Days for breakfast. Delicious!

Here’s the recipe: http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/other-recipes/pancakes-usa-stylie

 

Dinner was a grilled steak with pepper sauce, baked potatoes and spinach with garlic and pine nuts. The spinach was from the cook book above.

 

For dessert we had “hangop” (yogurt) with mint and strawberries marinated in lemon juice with a little bit of sugar. This was a recipe from the same magazine I used on Friday.

Monday

I had a nice pasta dish with green asparagus planned but when I got the asparagus out of the fridge they were all rotten and I couldn’t use them anymore. Instead I had a double sandwich with an baked egg. I took a picture but my camera died the next day before I could load it on my computer.

 

Tuesday

We had a piece of minced meat filled with ham and cheese, potatoes with herbs that I steamed in the microwave (bought them ready-made) and I had grilled zucchini. I had plans to make a side dish with the left over asparagus and the zucchini but that also didn’t happen. No pic because I totally forgot to take it.

 

Wednesday

I had plans to make a recipe with the sausages but I was so tired. I didn’t feel like cooking at all. I ended up making the sausages and a potato dish. I wasn’t all that hungry either.

Thursday

We had a Weber BBQ workshop from work. I didn’t have to cook anything which was very pleasant. All I had to do was enjoy the food and it was so good. I usually don’t like salmon but if I am somewhere and I can’t choose what to eat, I try it. I have to say that the salmon was excellent. I also had little river lobsters for the first time and they weren’t that bad either. Everything we ate was cooked on the BBQ including the eggs.

Eggs with creme fraiche and little river lobsters

Salmon

Lamb

Pork, Roseval potatoes, pak choi

 

Mini pizza, strawberries in balsamico vinegar, whipped cream with dragon

Upcoming weekend

Tonight we are going out for my birthday dinner. The rest of the weekend we don’t have any plans other than preparing a bit for our upcoming vacation to Italy. We leave Saturday the 9th.

15 responses to “Friday June 1, 2012: The Food Edition

  1. Fran – you are killing me! This food looks fantastic! I like quinoa, too. It’s a nice starch with a lot of protein.

  2. As much as I saute spinach I never thought to add some pinenuts – I’m going to try that!

    Have a great birthday celebration and a wonderful weekend of planning for your trip.

  3. OMG your food looks awesome, but especially the pancakes. 🙂 Yum

  4. I am loving your Friday posts Fran! I’ll have to see if my library has that Jamie Oliver cookbook – I love how he uses fresh ingredients!

    Enjoy your birthday dinner!

  5. You have had a huge variety this week! I love the quinoa recipe. It’s a really versatile grain–you can even make cereal with it.

    Have a great weekend!

  6. That quinoa dish looks good – I have two boxes in my pantry and should make something like that. I love it…just haven’t cooked in a while. Your meals are inspiring me to do just that, though!

    Hope your birthday dinner is enjoyable, and a wonderful celebration of YOU! 🙂

  7. LOVE the new blog name! (Not sure if/when you announced it…). I read your update on your about page, and I really like your outlook on things! Sounds like you are in a good place! 🙂

    Enjoy your Bday dinner! And enjoy preparing for your Italy trip!!! 🙂

  8. Yum! Everything looks good but especially the things with fresh fruit!

  9. Great, great recipes…those pancakes look so good.

    All the food at the Thursday BBQ looks fantastic…I would have loved to taste the summer, river lobsters, and the lamb…lovely!

  10. I love quinoa as well, also only ate about a year ago!
    Happy cooking 😉

  11. What a fantastic food, Fran! Lamb and salmon look so good.
    You will have italian food soon … are you ready? 🙂 Last week I had pasta dish with green asparagus and it was cooked with olive oil (instead of butter).
    Have a nice week!

  12. WOWZERS.
    I wanna make those eggs merely because of how cool they look.

  13. Looks like you’ve been having a very “foodie” week, just like me! No, I didn’t run yesterday either! I had a lot of excuses (see my blog post) but if I am honest, I was like you and just didn’t feel like it either…LOL!

    Have a great week!

  14. Everything looks delicious! Now I must go find breakfast.
    I tried quinoa for the first time about 1.5 years ago. I really enjoy it. My favorite is similar to how you made it but with either feta or goat cheese. It kind of melts into it and tastes amazing.

  15. It is noon and it is a torture to see the photos of that delicious food.

Leave a Reply

