Monday June 4, 2012: The Mishmash Edition

 

Daily stuff:

Last Tuesday my camera died. I couldn’t turn it on anymore. Weird because I did nothing unusual with it. It sucks because we are going on vacation next Saturday. Luckily I had a few days left of the one-year warranty and they will repair it without costs. I asked them if I could get it back before next Friday but I don’t think that will happen. Usually these things take a couple of weeks. It’s not our only camera but it was my camera and I love mine. I still haven’t got it back yet.

Thursday we had a meeting outside the office because after the meeting we had a Weber BBQ workshop. Best part: I didn’t have to do anything, just eat it. What we ate is in my Friday post of last week. Here are some pics that were taken during the workshop.

Moi

With 2 of the managers I work for

 

Group shot

Because this is my last week before my vacation there won’t be a food post next Friday. I’m posting the dinner we had last Friday here. We went to the restaurant that is in the mill in our village:

 

For starters I had lamb ham with melon and grilled green asparagus.

 

Main was pork tenderloin with “stroganoff” sauce.

This week it’s birthday week. I want to wish my blogger friends Shelley (last Friday), Lori (tomorrow) and Syl (Friday) a happy birthday. I hope the mail gets to you girls in time.

Another blogger friend of mine, Marcelle, who’s South-African but lives in Germany, celebrates her 50th birthday in Holland. And we made an appointment to meet each other that weekend. She’s staying in a hotel at the beach which is not to far for me. We’ve been reading each others blog for almost 3 years now but haven’t had a chance to meet yet. But in 3 weeks we will.

The weather totally turned around yesterday. Can you believe it was the same temperature yesterday as on Christmas day last year? This doesn’t feel like Spring or Summer.
But: we’re counting down: three more days of work and then …. VACATION! This Saturday night we will sit on a terrace in Florence, Italy, and have dinner in the evening sunshine.

 

Book I’m reading

John Grisham
The Associate

TV shows I watched last week

The Big Bang Theory, Grey’s Anatomy, Touch, King, The Good Wife, Grey’s Anatomy, Revenge, Once upon a time, Mad Men.

The two-hour season final of Grey’s was on last week. I know there are some of you who haven’t seen it yet so I won’t spoil anything. But it left me with mixed feelings at the end. Not sure what to think of this final, can’t say I was happy with how it ended.

13 responses to “Monday June 4, 2012: The Mishmash Edition

  1. You look ,like the rose among thorns with all of those men! What a fun treat – we are on our second Weber BBQ and love it…and to have someone cook for you is always good! 🙂

    Thanks for the birthday shout out, and for the pretty card – it arrived today, along with Helen’s card! You are so thoughtful.

    How wonderful that you will get to meet Marcelle soon – after all this time, I’m sure you both will just start talking like you’ve been friends forever!

    I’m excited for your upcoming vacation (and Bruce concert!)!!!

  2. That restaurant is adorable!!

    Thanks for the bday mention. All the cool people have their birthdays clustered together 😀

    I feel bad about the camera. I know how I felt when I broke mine, but we did have a backup camera – a crappy one, but it worked.

  3. I’m completely into Private Practice these days. Too bad about the camera. I don’t like my new camera as much as the one I broke. Oh well. How exciting you (and me) are almost on vacation!

  4. You look so pretty in pink! I love the restaurant and the food looks great.

    Hope you get the camera back in time for your trip. Have a wonderful time and safe travels!

  5. Sorry to hear about your camera – good thing you have a reserve one for the trip.
    Unbelieveable about the weather – today looks like it will be much better – time to get out for a run!
    So cool you get to meet Marcelle!

  6. What a bummer to have your camera break just before your vacation! Here’s hoping you get it back. It has been cold here too. It was only 8.89C here overnight! I actually had to get up and find a blanket to put on the bed. Enough! I’m ready for some warm weather.

  7. yahoooooo to us finally meeting, am so excited…
    RED WINE, WEAR PINK AND CAMERA
    As we have been instructed to do by our friend Syl 🙂

    So sorry about your camera, such a terrible thing to happen right now…before vacation. 😦

    We have a Webber, but like you, I only eat the food, I don’t do the cooking…Heinz does 😦

    wow how amazing is the food presented!!!!

  8. I love your pink blazer!!!
    Your birthday dinner looks incredible. And how awesome that the restaurant is in a mill!! So cool.
    Have fun on your vacation!

  9. I hope you get your camera fixed in plenty of time to take lots of pictures of your visit with Marcelle. I can’t wait to see the two of you together!

    You must be getting so excited fr Italy. That will be so amazing 🙂

  10. it has been a blogworld birthday extravaganza lately huh?

    hope the camera is ALREADY fixed.

    xo

  11. Sorry about your camera – that stinks. So jealous of your vacation! My father in law was born in Florence so its a place I’ve always wanted to visit. You are going to have a great time!

  12. Roz@weightingfor50

    Oh no! Sorry to read about the camera!!! I’m hoping for a miracle and you get it back before your holiday. You look LOVELY in that shot Fran! May the excitement of your birthday week continue long after the birthday is over!!!!!

  13. Welcome to Italy. If you change program and decide to come to Rome please let me know.
    Sorry for the camera! Mine died when I arrived in Wales some months ago and I had to buy another there.
    Great pictures!
    I hope that you will not lose your perfect shape because of the italian food!!!!

Leave a Reply

