Thursday June 7, 2012: The holiday edition

VACATION!

That’s right, this afternoon our vacation started. No more work till next month (sounds funny to say that).

For once I’m lucky because my camera is fixed and I got it back in time for our vacation. Because I had warranty on the camera, it didn’t cost me a thing either. Huge compliment to Nikon for their service.

Speaking of vacation, tomorrow is packing day and we will bring Bella to my Mom where she will be staying. The two of them are going to have a great time because Bella totally adores my Mom and my Mom adores her. Although it will be weird because we have never been this long without her.

Let me tell you a little about the trip we are about to take. Saturday morning we fly to our first stop: Florence. We are staying in a hotel in the middle of the city and Sunday night we go to the Bruce Springsteen concert.
On Monday we will pick up our rental car and drive to our next stop: Pietralunga in Umbria. This will be the longest drive we have to do. We will be staying at an agriturismo (see pic that I found on the internet). During our stay here we get a pasta workshop by “la Mamma”.

Our agriturismo in Pietralunga

Next stop is San Gimignano in Tuscany. Again we will stay at an agriturismo there. Here we will stay the longest because it’s in central Tuscany and lots of things to do in this area. We have rented a Vespa scooter for one day and will explore the area by scooter that day.

Our agriturismo in San Gimignano

Our last stop will be in Lucca, Tuscany. Another agriturismo and they produce their own wine here. We will have a wine taste when we are there.

 

Our agriturismo in Lucca

After that it’s driving back to Florence and fly home. We both look forward to this trip. We’ve been to Tuscany before but it’s been a couple of years ago and it will be great to visit it again. We have also been to Umbria before (4 years ago). Except for San Gimignano we’ve been to all the places we are going to stay but since it’s been a while it will feel like it’s the first time again.

After we get home we will have another 1.5 week vacation left which we will spend at home.

I won’t update my blog or read your blogs till I get back. If I have free internet I will do some Facebook updates but if not: I’ll see you on the other side of our trip with lots of pics and stories to tell.

Till then!

 

13 responses to “Thursday June 7, 2012: The holiday edition

  1. oh Fran I hope you have a wonderful vacation!!!! I’ll miss you but know that you are having a great time!
    xoxo
    Safe travels!

  2. If I ever get to go to Italy, I am going to have you help me plan the trip as everything here looks fabulous!

    I hope you have a great, refreshing and relaxing time. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  3. I am so excited for your trip – everything sounds amazing!!! Hope you and R have a wonderful time – I’ll miss you online, but hey, disconnecting is what a vacation is all about. See you on the flip side!

  4. Have a wonderful, wonderful time, but leave a bunch of room in your suitcase because I am sneaking in there!

  5. So excited for you guys! I can’t even remember the last time I had that much time off in a row – I think the most I’ve had is 10 days over Christmas one year.

    So glad your camera is fixed!! I’ll anxiously await your photos when you return.

  6. Have a wonderful trip! I’m so happy that you get to do this. And also happy that you will update on FB sometimes. Enjoy every second of it!!!

  7. Roz@weightingfor50

    Woo Hoo!!!!! Great news about the Camera, and ooooh…..you have such a wonderful vacation planned. Enjoy every minute Fran. We’ll ‘see” you when you’re back home! Safe travels.

  8. Wow! Sounds like you are going to have an awesome vacation! Hope all goes well and you arrive safely – enjoy!

  9. So exciting! Have a wonderful time. Can’t wait to hear about it!

  10. Enjoy your vacation and your break from the internet. When you get back you’ll have to check out my blog for sure. There will be puppy pictures!!!

  11. Enjoy! I will look forward to seeing your pictures when you get back!!!

  12. Bella and your mom sound perfect! When I visited Italy Florence was my favorite city. And a concert! Great start to a vacation. Whatever that a word is it looks like you are staying in some great ones! What a wonderful vacation! I hope you are taking pics. I thought I went to San Ge….. but I was thinking it was a walled village.

  13. Tuscany is the italian region that I prefer and where I like to race too.
    The Springsteen concert is something of wonderful. 4 hours of music!
    Have a good and safe trip.
    And … please leran some italian term so we can talk in italian. Mi raccomando!!! Ciao a presto e divertiti in Toscana.

Leave a Reply

