Wednesday June 27 – 2012, The Workout Edition

Countdown to half marathon: 116 days

You might want to know if I ran in Italy? I did once and I didn’t enjoy it at all.

The places where we stayed were in small towns, usually on the top of a hill. The roads are small, there are no bike paths to run on and the roads have many, many turns. In my opinion Italians can’t drive (sorry Giorgio and Stefano) and it just didn’t feel safe to run on the roads, it scared me.

I ran once in San Gimignano: down the hill, up another, down again and up to the azienda again and I didn’t enjoy it. And I left it to just one run during the vacation.

Thursday

Rest.

Friday

It had been almost a month since I had a decent long run and I wasn’t sure how it would be going but it went fine. Except for the very hard wind that I had to run against almost the entire way. It slowed me down. Overall I’m pleased with how it went and am confident to pick up my half marathon schedule where I left it a couple of weeks ago.

Stats:
Weather:dry, sunny and cloudy, very much wind, 16C (60 degrees)
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 00:59:16
Average time: 07:24 /km
Average speed: 8.10 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bruce Springsteen – No Surrender

Saturday & Sunday

Rest.

Monday

Even though we still have a week of vacation, I started my training again. I’m picking up my training schedule for the half marathon I intend to run in October in Amsterdam. This meant: speedwork Monday. I haven’t run that much in June but I decided to go and try and see how it would go. It went better than expected. I did have to walk after every interval but the intervals I stayed within the pace (except the first).

Interval pace: 5:57-6:12
100 time: 6:20
200 time: 5:48
300 time: 5:58
600 time: 6:07
300 time: 6:05
200 time: 6:03
100 time: 5:51

Stats:
Weather:dry, windy, 16C (60 degrees)
Distance: 6.2 K / 3.8 miles
Time: 00:43:53
Average time: 07:05 /km
Average speed: 8.48 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Time Warp

Tuesday

Turbofire time. I started with a short and intense HITT workout of 19 minutes. Followed by a sculpt workout of 28 minutes. I used a resistance band for the exercises.
Total time: 47 minutes.

Wednesday

Schedule: a tempo run of 40 minutes at a pace of 6:57-7:12 with 1 x 4 minutes at a pace of 6:27-6:42. I did fine although I still have walking breaks but to be honest I’m okay with that. I don’t mind if I continue the walking breaks my entire training schedule. I ran a bit more because I always want to have a round number at the end of my run. Running 5.74 km for example has to be 5.8 km on my Garmin. I know, I’m weird 🙂

Stats:
Weather:dry, cloudy, not much wind, 16C (60 degrees)
Distance: 6 K / 3.7 miles
Time: 00:42:07
Average time: 07:01 /km
Average speed: 8.55 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Born this way.

Weekly review
June isn’t going to be a great workout but I knew that at the beginning of the month because we would go on vacation. I’m glad though that I picked up my training this week even though I still have vacation.
From here on it’s sticking to my schedule as much as possible till October when I have a half marathon planned.

12 responses to “Wednesday June 27 – 2012, The Workout Edition

  1. where we were in Italy it was flat and had bike pathways, so we ran and loved it….your part of Italy does sound very different….
    Great that you are training again – I am as well :))))

  2. So jealous of all your time off! And good for you for picking up the pace on your workouts this week. And for the record, I wouldn’t have run on vacation either! 😀

  3. Well you know you wont’ hear a word from me. I don’t purposefully plan to exercise on vacation. If it happens, it does and if not, oh well! Your June was my May but I’ve learned over the years it’s all cyclical. You’ll get back in the groove in no time, I’m sure!

  4. Haha, I laughed at your 5.74 must be 5.8 because I do that too – if I’m supposed to run 4 miles and my route ends up being 3.92, I have to keep running until I hit 4.

    I’m planning on running on my vacation, but that’s because it will be about 30 degrees cooler and will be so nice!! If I was going somewhere warmer, I probably wouldn’t run. At least you can say you’ve run in Italy now – you’re so continental! 🙂

  5. I will exercise on vacation because I like it. I have run a couple times (back when I ran) when we were in New Orleans. In Disney – it was a walkathon, so nothing extra.

    You can certainly pick up your training and be just fine!

  6. I have to say I love running on vacations. A different way to see the place. But if you don’t it’s not worth spending your vacation time doing something not enjoyable!

  7. You just made me realize I need to start my half marathon training NOW. Mine is at the end of August. I’ve been doing a couple runs a week but I need to add my long run back in on the weekends.
    It sounds like you still got plenty of exercise walking on your vacation. Glad your 5 mile run went well.

  8. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. I have NO doubt you’ll get all your training in for the half. Hope you have a great weekend.

  9. Great job on getting right back at it…even when you are vacation. I love the Time Warp!!!

  10. I run on vacation, but only if I think it is safe. I would agree with you that those small curvy hilly roads are not good to run on. It sounds like you had some great workouts thisnweek though, and I take walk breaks in my tempo and interval runs too.

  11. I usually only run on vacation when i can find a treadmill. I forgot about how crazy the cobble stone roads and such are there in Italy. I wasn’t really a runner when I lived there, but I remember it being hilly where I lived.

  12. i wouldn’t feel safe running there either!

Leave a Reply

