Wednesday July 4 – 2012, The Workout Edition

Countdown to half marathon: 109 days

Thursday + Friday + Saturday + Sunday + Monday
Wednesday after my run I was in a hurry to shower because I had to be somewhere at 8.30 am and it was already 8.10 am. My feet were sweaty from the running and the floor of the shower slippery and I slipped and almost fell. I hurted my left leg at this. The leg bothered me till around Sunday and I didn’t workout these days. I thought it would be smarter to give it some rest and let it heal.

Monday wasn’t supposed to be a rest day but I slept terrible the night before and when I woke up I was still tired. Since it was my first day at work after my vacation I decided not to run and do the run on Tuesday.

Tuesday
Back to running: speedwork. I had to do 5 x 400 intervals, warm up and cool down was 500 metres and between the intervals I walked/jogged 400 metres. It went pretty well considered that I hadn’t run in a week.

Interval pace: 5:57-6:12. Times: 6:08 – 6:08 – 6:01 – 6:12 – 6:03.

After the 4th interval I thought I couldn’t do the last one but I tried and it turned out I could do it.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 16C (60 degrees)
Distance: 4.6 K / 2.8 miles
Time: 00:32:12
Average time: 07:00 /km
Average speed: 8.57 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Marry you

Wednesday
Easy run. The first half of the run went very well but the second half was one big struggle. It was already pretty warm and humid at 5.30 am. Think that might have been the reason the second part didn’t go too well. I had to do 3 miles which I did.

Stats:
Weather:dry, no wind, 18C (64 degrees)
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:36:01
Average time: 07:12 /km
Average speed: 8.33 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Elton John – Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

Weekly review
This week I have started with the half marathon training schedule for Intermediates by Hal Higdon. The original plan says you have to run 5 days but I keep it on 3, sometimes 4 days as I have done the past couple of months. The plan is for 12 weeks but since it is 16 weeks till my half marathon I adjusted it a little bit. I have added 3 recovery weeks and the week before my half marathon I’m doing a step back (the original plan says your long run is 12 miles that week). I try to stick to the schedule as much as possible but won’t get stressed if I miss a run for some reason as long as it isn’t the weekly long run.

8 responses to “Wednesday July 4 – 2012, The Workout Edition

  1. I love how you have taken a plan and made your own out of it!

  2. I love your casual attitude. Sometimes I follow a plan too closely.
    I am REALLY into Private Practice these days! Good series I had missed.

  3. Excellent idea to let your hurt leg get some rest before running again. Enjoy your run schedule!

  4. I’m so excited to follow your journey to your half marathon Fran!!! You are going to do great!

  5. Exciting times ahead……

  6. I think when training for half or full marathons, the weekend long run is always the most important run. The rest of the runs during the week, I always make fit my own schedule. Sometimes that means I miss one, sometimes it means I run a 3 and a5 when I’m supposed to run 4 and 4 but the weekend long runs are the ones I make sure to get it. Those are the runs that prepare you for your legs to be turning over and over and over for how ever long it takes. They help build endurance which is what is needed at that distance. I think this is essentially what you’re trying to do and I’m sure it will all work out!

  7. Glad your leg is feeling better.
    My half marathon training isn’t going very well. I’ve not been motivated with all the hot weather we’ve been having. It is in less than 2 months though so I need to get going! Yours sounds like it is going well so far.

  8. FRAN!! I’m so excited that you’re doing another half marathon, that’s so exciting!

    I was cleaning my closet last week and noticed a few outfits I had posted last summer and thought of you! Are you still taking those pictures and posting them? I’ve missed you and blogging and I’m going to try to be more disciplined with it this summer since I have more free time…

    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

