Monday July 9, 2012: The Mishmash Edition

Daily stuff:

Last week I read an article about overweight. They published numbers of how many people have overweight in my country. I was a bit shocked by the numbers: 6.5 million people in Holland are to heavy (1.5 million are obese). That’s 41% of the total population. For example in the early eighties this was 27%.  Personally I think that’s a lot and unfortunately I’m one of them. But that’s going to change because I’m working on a healthy weight since last week.

***

Which also brings me to the following: do you remember I mentioned a couple of weeks ago I was invited to a discussion at work about how we can get our employees healthier? Management has decided that this project can continue and they set up a small project group of 6 people who are going to work out ideas. And guess what?

I’m one of them. After the first session I already told them I would like to help and my manager also put in a good word for me because I have great interest in this subject. We have our first meeting next week.

 ***

Other work news: this Autumn the other secretaries at the company and I get three workshops about communication at work, how to effectively use your influence and one about teamwork. This is the first time in the 10 years I work at the company that I get the opportunity to do some workshops and I look forward to them.

 ***

We decided after our vacation that we wanted to go to some concerts this year and I bought tickets this week. We start next Friday with a concert by John Fogerty.

I bought tickets for 3 other concerts, all Dutch bands/singers. One of them is called Doe Maar, they are retired but are going to do some concerts in October. When I was about 16 this band was totally hot and cool here and I had all of their records.

The other one is a Dutch singer called Boudewijn de Groot. He is doing his last tour this year and he’s one of those artists you have to hear/see before you die. Since this is our last opportunity we bought tickets.

And the last one is The Golden Earring. A Dutch rockband, also one you have to see before you die. You might even know a song of them because they had a big hit with “Radar Love” back in the 70’s/80’s (don’t know exactly when).

Book I’m reading

E.L. James
Fifty Shades Darker

I finished book two of a Song of Fire and Ice. I love these books and already order book 3 that is published in two books here because the entire book exists of 1500 pages.

TV shows I watched last week

Glee, Mad Men, Touch, Downton Abbey.

I have seen all episodes of Downton Abbey now, love this show. Now I have to wait patiently for season 3 like everybody else.

Cross Stitching

Last week I worked a few days on “River Sight”.

My progress

What it looks like when I finish it

7 responses to “Monday July 9, 2012: The Mishmash Edition

  1. Good job being on the healthy committee. You will be great! I would love that too.
    I would not like Downton Abbey. I saw an epsiode and it is really not my cup of tea so to speak. But I still appreciate the suggestion.

  2. Hello there! Hope all is well, sounds as though you have a lovely summer planned. I love golden earring….lucky you to see them live. I also like another Dutch band very much…do you know The Art Company? Hmmmm some very good memories there 🙂 btw, read all 3 sagas about Mr Christian Grey….poorly written, but very hard to put down;-)

  3. My 2cents worth – the population is fatter than before as sugar is in everything we eat! So many people eat well and train, but yet struggle with weight. Once one learns more about sugar and the bad effect it has on the body, then only can they do something about it and lose the weight. If you google all the healthy site regarding how much sugar a day we should eat, they all say 30g and no more a day. I know for me I often had way way more than that…..now making the changes!

    I bought the book for my iPad, but not read it as yet!

  4. Congrats on being part of the committee! They will do well having you on board. I think so much of the problem stems from people forgetting how to cook and relying on too much processed foods. Restaurants don’t help with the huge portions, either.

    I am so glad you loved Downton Abbey! My favorite story line was Sybil and the chauffeur.

  5. Roz@weightingfor50

    GOLDEN EARRING???? OMG, I remember them!!!!! How fun. Love that your company is encouraging its employees to be healthier, and YAY YOU for getting involved. The cross stitch is spectacular Fran!!! Have a wonderful Tuesday.

  6. I was just watching a show on Monday which is similar to the biggest loser and it really freaked me out! I was so surprised to hear about the emotional eating and issues that contribute to obesity and I’m going to read more about this! Good luck with committee at work, this sounds wonderful.
    I read Shades of Gray, all three. There is even a big book party based on the books at a friend’s house this week. They have been the rage here!! I giggled at the “poorly written” comment above because everyone says that but we still read on, and on and on…three books worth!! They can’t be that poorly written if we can’t put them down!
    Hugs!

  7. go you on turning around the health in your workplace!!
    baby steps to world domination 🙂

Leave a Reply

