Wednesday July 11 – 2012, The Workout Edition

Countdown to half marathon: 102 days

 

Thursday
Rest.

Friday
Long run. This was a tough run, I left at 7 am but it was very humid which made the run tough. There was some wind but that didn’t help much. I was glad I took enough water with me because I needed it. I didn’t watch my pace and took more walk breaks than necessary. This helped me finish the run. My last song was “Another 45 miles” and that last mile felt like 45. I was glad I was done.

Stats:
Weather:dry, cloudy, humid, not much wind, 21C (70 degrees)
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 00:57:39
Average time: 07:12 /km
Average speed: 8.33 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Golden Earring – Another 45 miles.

Saturday & Sunday
Rest.

Monday
Easy run. This was just a normal and good run. Nothing special to say about it.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 16C (60 degrees)
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:33:53
Average time: 07:04 /km
Average speed: 8.50 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Coldplay – The Scientist.

Tuesday

The Firm Express Turbocharge Cardio. Short and intense aerobics workout. Perfect to start my cross training workouts with again.

Wednesday
Tempo run. I forgot to set my alarm. Luckily R. did set his but not before 5.45 am (I usually get up at 5.15 am) and that’s when I woke up. Since I only had to do 30 minutes I jumped out of bed, got dressed, drank an espresso and headed out the door. I warmed up for 10 minutes and tried after that to stay between a pace of 6:27-6:42 for 10 minutes followed by a 10 minute cool down jog. Sticking at the pace is hard, I constantly check the pace at my watch because I have the habit to slow down or go to fast easily. Overall I was happy with this run.

Stats:
Weather:drizzling rain, little bit of wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 4.4 K / 2.7 miles
Time: 00:30:18
Average time: 06:53 /km
Average speed: 8.71 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Train – 50 ways to say goodbye

Weekly review
I have 2 things to work on at my long run. First the pace. I know you have to run your long runs slower but somehow that’s hard for me. I usually run a bit faster. Need to slow down a bit, especially when the runs will be longer.

Last Friday I had walk breaks after every K. I made kind of a planning for less walk breaks. My plan is to be able to run 5K without walking. At my half the aid stations will be around every 5K. My strategy will be to walk through them and drink something and fuel (if necessary).

I started with my cross training workouts again this week too. Last week all I did was run but this week it’s back to my normal workout schedule. I took June as a rest month from everything and am refreshed to work hard the rest of this year.

I’m happy with my workout week. I didn’t skip workouts/runs and am very motivated at the moment.

9 responses to “Wednesday July 11 – 2012, The Workout Edition

  1. I can’t believe how quickly your half is coming up Fran! Keep up the great work, can’t wait to read your race recap!!

  2. Three big cheers for motivation!!

  3. I like your chart at the end. I love Coldplay. It has been cooler here and oh so wonderful. Jax is here because I am dog sitting so I am outside right now keeping him company where the cats don’t go crazy!

  4. Roz@weightingfor50

    You are a workout maven Fran!!!!! YAY!!!! ACCK! When I read “Friday, long run” I started singing the Eagles “Long Run” song to myself. And it won’t go away. 🙂 Oh dear. Have a great day.

  5. Hey Fran, my GPS has an option to warn you if you are above or below a certain pace range. It gives different beeps depending on whether you need to slow down or speed up. Maybe check if yours can do that. It would help having to check all the time. Good for you squeezing that run in though. That’s awesome. Can’t believe your half is just over 100 days away. It’s going to tick by quickly.

  6. Nice work this week, Fran!

  7. Yippee for being motivated!!! 😀

  8. Good going with your training.
    8km is our normal run, it’s funny to hear u call it a long run….

  9. wow.
    time is FLYING HUH?
    I think cuz it is not me training? 🙂

Leave a Reply

