Wednesday July 18 – 2012, The Workout Edition

Countdown to half marathon: 95 days

Thursday
Rest.

Friday
Long run. It rained for start till the end but the pleasant kind of rain: not hard, not much wind, lots of oxygen in the air. I didn’t mind this run at all and it felt much better than last weeks run with the humidity. I took walk breaks after 1.5 or 1 km and although my time is similar to last week, this one felt much better afterwards.

Stats:
Weather:rain, little bit of wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 9.6 K / 6 miles
Time: 01:09:14
Average time: 07:13 /km
Average speed: 8.32 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Hall & Oates – Rich Girl

Saturday
Pace run. My plan for my half marathon is to finish, after all it will be the first one I finish and I automatically have a PR. I’m aiming for a pace between 6:48-6:50 on race day. The plan I’m using has some pace runs in it, this means I have to run 4 times a week a couple of times. I have to say this run went very well, even with two walk breaks I met the pace. My legs were a bit tired from Friday’s run when I started but when I was warmed up they were fine.

Stats:
Weather:rain, bit windy, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:32:32
Average time: 06:47 /km
Average speed: 8.85 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Maroon5 – Moves like Jagger

Sunday

Chalean Extreme Burn Circuit 1. Great upper and lower body workout with weights.
Total time: 36 minutes.

Monday
Speedwork Monday: 6 x 400 metres. Still have walk breaks between the intervals. They are hard but so far I haven’t skipped one and most of them at the required pace.

Interval pace: 5:57-6:12. Times: 6:14 – 6:04 – 6:00 – 5:58 – 6:05 – 5:53.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 5.4 K / 3.3 miles
Time: 00:37:20
Average time: 06:55 /km
Average speed: 8.68 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Rumour has it.

Tuesday

Rhythmica Hip Hop Fat Burn. I bought this DVD a couple of months ago but didn’t use it till today. It’s got 3 20-minute dance workouts on it and I did the hip hop workout this time. It was a nice workout, a bit like Zumba which I like too.
Total time: 21 minutes.

Wednesday
Easy run. I don’t watch my pace at easy runs, I just run at what feels good for me. Today was a rather slow run although it felt faster when I was running.

Stats:
Weather:dry, little bit of wind, 17C (62 degrees)
Distance: 5.6 K / 3.5 miles
Time: 00:39:38
Average time: 07:05 /km
Average speed: 8.48 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bruce Springsteen – Glory Days

Bella and Fran’s Summer challenge: walk at least 30 minutes every day
I try to walk at least 30 minutes every day with Bella. She goes out more (in the morning and before bed and when I’m home 4 times a day) but one of those walks has to be longer. Most of the days we walk for 30 minutes or more but there are days when I do have the time but don’t go because I’m thinking of all the things I have to do later or it rains a little. That’s why I though of this challenge that started today. Summer ends Friday 21 September, that’s 66 days. I already know I’m going to miss at least 2 days because Bella isn’t home then but we are going to try.

I haven’t discussed this with Bella yet, but I’m sure she will take on the challenge 🙂

Days till the end of Summer: 66 days
Success: 1 day
Fail: 0 days

Weekly review
I’m totally rocking my workouts lately. Very, very happy with it.

I have no weekly review because I got an error while uploading it but:

Walking: 3 hours 28 minutes.
Running: 25.4 K / 15.8 miles.
Total workout time: 3 hours 54 minutes.

 

8 responses to “Wednesday July 18 – 2012, The Workout Edition

  1. There might not be a better feeling in the world than enjoying your workouts and meeting your goals! Good for you!

  2. I have to say, all your music choices made me smile! Looks like a really solid week for you–keep up the great work!

  3. So a mid October half? That is a good time of year to run one. Shouldn’t be too hot or cold.

    Bella will probably be thrilled with your new plan. The great thing about animals is that you can plan all kinds of things for them and they never know what’s coming (hello vet!!)

  4. Love the Bella challenge! You are so fun!!!

    OK, help a dummy out…what does your 6:48 – 6:50 race pace translate into pace per mile?

    I’m so pleased for you that your training is going well and that your runs have been good. Nothing better, right?!?

  5. I love that Bella has a challenge. I’m sure she will embrace it totally.
    I got to see Jax today although I had to hurry to get home to get my refrigerator. I felt bad leaving him so quickly after I walked him.

  6. ok ok ok I have to echo the bella challenge love too. and 95 days?
    IM EXCITED
    we got this 🙂

  7. I miss taking longer walks with my dog – he’s getting so old that 15 minutes is almost too long for him!

    I love how you haven’t “talked” to Bella about it, but that she’ll be up for the challenge! 😀

  8. I need to set a challenge for myself with my dogs. I’m sure they would love it! We get out when the weather is nice but lately its either been way too hot (100 degrees F) or raining. I would have walked them in the rain this weekend but we just bathed the puppy for the first time and I didn’t want her to get all dirty/smelly again.
    Sounds like your training is going well. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

