Wednesday July 25 – 2012, The Workout Edition

Countdown to half marathon: 88 days

Thursday

Jillian Michaels, Ripped in 30, level 2. Like the 30 day Shred this has 3 circuits of 3 minutes strength, 2 minutes cardio and 1 minute abs. I like this concept because you can do anything for 3, 2 or 1 minute and you don’t give up that easily
Total time: 38 minutes.

Friday
Rest.

Saturday
Long run. This run went great, I felt good and I enjoyed the run. I took walk breaks after every 1.5 k (about 1 mile). The weather was perfect too. I also started using gels again, when I run more than 10K I’m using gels. I forgot how good they work after you took one, it kept the second part of my run as strong as the first part.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 18C (64 degrees)
Distance: 11.2 K / 7 miles
Time: 01:20:40
Average time: 07:12 /km
Average speed: 8.33 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Michael Jackson – Another part of me.

Sunday

X-Trainfit Yoga. Great workout although my leg muscles felt very tight at first from all the running. I should do yoga more but I don’t like it that much to do it very often. Every now and then works better for me.
Total time: 42 minutes.

Monday
Recovery week. After every 3 weeks of training hard I have planned a recovery week: lower mileage, all easy runs and less DVD workouts. Today I did an easy run, without walk breaks this time.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:22:26
Average time: 07:01 /km
Average speed: 8.56 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Lady Gaga – Judas

Tuesday
Rest.

Wednesday
I had a short run planned but after working in the garden for 3 hours Tuesday night my lower back and upper legs were very sore when I got up this morning. Since it’s recovery week I don’t mind that much skipping this run.

Bella and Fran’s Summer challenge: walk at least 30 minutes every day

Days till the end of Summer: 66 days

Success: 5 days
Fail: 3 days

We had a great walk in the forest this week on Sunday of 1 hour and 27 minutes.

We missed Monday’s walk. Bella was with my Mom that day and R. picks her up after work. He was working late and therefore Bella was late too. We also missed yesterday and today’s walk because temperatures are around 32C / 89 degrees here since Monday. That’s too hot for dogs to walk long distances because their feet gets too hot and they can’t cool down. Since it will be this hot tomorrow and Friday I don’t think we will have long walks till Saturday.

Weekly review
Happy with my workouts but happy it’s recovery week too. I was looking forward to the “break”.

7 responses to “Wednesday July 25 – 2012, The Workout Edition

  1. Nice job with the workouts! I don’t like yoga very much either, so I don’t do it at all 😀

    We have gloriously cooler weather today! Only upper 70s and pretty much a perfect day. Finally.

  2. Yeehaw on your great 7 mile run!!! So happy this is going well for you – I feed off of your good running vibes and get motivated for my long runs on Saturday. 🙂

  3. Nice pics! Crumble is so good isn’t it? Glad you are enjoying your summer with Bella!

  4. Sounds like a great week of workouts. I love how you mix it up from day-to-day!

  5. Roz@weightingfor50

    Great job Fran. I LOVE that Bella is part of your planning. AWWW! Have a great day!!! (hopefully it cools off a bit soon!!)

  6. I know what you mean about this heat! Yesterday I wanted to take the dogs out but it was over 100 with the heat index. No thanks!!

  7. I haven’t tried Jillian’s ripped DVD yet – I’ll have to check that out! I am hoping to set a goal for August – 100 miles in the month, whether it be swimming, biking, etc. I looked at pictures of myself over the weekend and did not like what I saw! Hope you had a great weekend Fran!

Leave a Reply

