Wednesday August 1, 2012: Time for a change

Daily stuff:

I haven’t been happy with my blog for a couple of weeks now. I actually find a complete post about my workouts or food pretty boring. So I decided to combine everything in 1 post again like I did before. Makes it more interesting for me and hopefully for you too.

I also want to post more photo’s. Last year when I was doing the 365 photo challenge I took my camera everywhere I went but lately I leave it at home a lot. There’s most of the times something to see in a day to take a picture of. Photos on blogs are always nice to look at is my opinion.

Workouts:

Monday
Recovery week is over, back to half marathon training. I had a run planned for the morning but when I got up the rain was pouring down and I decided to switch the run with the DVD I had planned for Tuesday: The Firm 500 Calorie Workout. A combination of weight and aerobic exercises.

I always plan my workouts for the next week on Saturday so I know what I have to do and I can be flexible to switch workouts which in this case was very useful.

Total time: 62 minutes.

Tuesday
The run I had planned for Monday. A tempo run of 35 minutes. Pace for this run is 6:27-6:42 with a warm up and cool down jog. I had 2 walk breaks but kept at the pace when I had to during the run. Good run, I felt good.

Sunrise during run

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:34:21
Average time: 06:52 /km
Average speed: 8.73 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Kate Perry – The One That Got Away

Wednesday
Turbofire. All aerobic or tae bo exercises. Total length is 55 minutes but I have to be honest and admit I skipped the last part of the DVD.
Total time: 37 minutes.

Workout results July 2012

Results July:

  • Excellent month! Finally after a few poor training months.
  • My runs are going better and better every time. I’m still slow but speed isn’t important at this point. Endurance and run the distance I plan are.
  • Total time I did something (including walking): 25 hours and 20 minutes.

Workouts July:
Running. Done: 13
Strength training. Done: 3
Yogalates/Stretching. Done: 1
Cardio. Done: 2

Workouts:

Number and time of workouts in June: 9 workouts, total time 5 hours and 22 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in July: 19 workouts, total time 12 hours and 30 minutes.

Running goals:

Total July: 75.9 K / 47.3 miles

Total till 07/31: 351.3 K / 218 miles
Total running time: 41 hours and 15 minutes

Food:

Monday

 

Recipe by Nigella Lawson: Golden Jubilee Chicken. Ingredients: salad, cold chicken breast, mango, coriander and spring onions. I baked the chicken the day before and by doing that the salad was ready in about 10 minutes. All I had to do was cut the ingredients. A very tasty light Summer dish.

Recipe here

Tuesday

Easy dinner: meat, potatoes and vegetables.

 

Wednesday

Another easy one: noodles with ham and vegetables.

10 responses to “Wednesday August 1, 2012: Time for a change

  1. You and I seem to be in the same mindset when it comes to running goals – I’m looking at endurance and distance, too. Speed doesn’t matter to me…I just want to be able to complete my long runs. Great sunrise picture – I have seen more sunrises this year than I have in my entire life, thanks to running so darn early!

  2. Will you come cook for me? I am so uninspired!

  3. I love that sunrise picture – just gorgeous! I love pictures on blogs, too – just not too many. Sometimes I skip over blogs in my reader that have 20 or more pictures in one post. I try to be conscious not to overdo the photos.

  4. Love the idea if you carrying your camera with you more. That sunrise is beautiful. Can’t remember when last I saw the sunrise….many sunsets though 🙂
    Food looks good and delish.
    Keep rocking the training,

  5. how about andrea and I come to YOU?
    Im hothothot and uninspired AND out of groceries 🙂

  6. Beautiful sunrise photo! Looking forward to more photos from your beautiful country.
    That salad looks delicious. It’s making me hungry and it’s 7am here!

  7. Great photos you included! I’m happy for you that running is going well and that July was a good, productive exercise month. It always feels good to be in that position.

    And I have to tell you–I agree on your comment about Lochte vs. Phelps–something about his personality is a bit more humble. I feel bad cheering against my home-town swimmer, but I do like Lochte!

  8. Roz@weightingfor50

    Oh Fran, that sunrise is INCREDIBLE. Gorgeous! I’m looking forward to more shots of your neck of the woods. Have a wonderful day!!!!

  9. I have a camera with me pretty much wherever I go – you just never know when you’ll want to take the perfect picture.

    That sunrise picture is gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

