Monday August 13, 2012: Mishmash

Daily stuff:

Wednesday last week I had a dinner date with my friend K. Due to busy schedules and because she moved there hasn’t been time to make an appointment but we catched up last Wednesday. It was great seeing her and we had a lot to talk about.
We went to an oriental tapas restaurant, I had never been there but the food was delicious.

Fish cookies

Beef rolls, rendang and pad thai

****

Saturday afternoon we had the funeral of my old colleague who was living together with my colleague that still works at our company. It was a beautiful service but it kept me emotional and quiet the rest of the day. After the service we drank wine or beer or soda to toast at her life, that was her wish and I think it is a beautiful think to close it this way.

 

Workouts:

It had been 3 weeks since I did a long run and had run just 4 times after that, no further than 5K /3.1 milesbut I wanted to do my long run Saturday. It was hard, probably one of the hardest ones I ever did. I had to take a lot of walk breaks but in the end I did it. It gave me confidence and I can continue with my half marathon schedule from this point.

Stats:

Weather:dry, not much wind,18C (64 degrees)
Distance: 11.2 K / 7 miles
Time: 01:22:04
Average time: 07:20 /km
Average speed: 8.19 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: The Doobie Brothers – Long Train Running.

Weekly workout review:

Countdown to half marathon: 69 days

Still not the workout week as I like to see them but better than the week before.

Bella and Fran’s Summer challenge: walk at least 30 minutes every day:

Days till the end of Summer: 66 days
Success: 15 days
Fail: 13 days

12 responses to “Monday August 13, 2012: Mishmash

  1. Your dinner looks so tasty and different. Photos awesome as well!

    Funerals of young people are always so sad as they should still be enjoying a full and healthy life…..glad u all celebrated her life she would have wanted it that way.

    Great long run…my longest this whole year has been a little over 10km….my foot drags for a while after I run so scared to attempt longer ones.

    Have a good Tuesday

  2. That food looks delicious! It’s near dinner time and I am ready to eat 😀

  3. That is such a great picture of you and K – you both look beautiful. 🙂

    Nice going on your long run. I haven’t hit 7 miles yet – that’s in a couple weeks, and I kind of dread it, as it’s a LONG WAY!!!

  4. I guess the purpose of funerals for those of us who are there to attend them is to celebrate the life of the person who passed away, but also, I think, to remind us that life is short and deserves to be appreciated. With our busy lives, that is sometimes so easy to put at the back of our minds.

    When I am struggling with something I often think of my friend Johan who died at age 47 and left his wife and five kids behind, and that always changes my perspective.

  5. life is short.
    fleeting
    EMPHEMERAL

    :/

  6. OK, so I think if you’re managing an 11:42/mile pace on that 7 miler and that includes walking towards the end, you’re going out too fast. You need to slow yourself down a bit in the beginning so that you can make it through to the end. Either that or purposefully take walk breaks straight from the beginning. My guess is that either of those would make your overall time a bit faster.

    Glad that in the midst of your sadness you got to reconnect with K. You guys look great!

    • I don’t think you are understanding what I’m saying. If you’re calling your 11:42/mile pace BAD and saying your run was BAD and saying that you had to walk more than you wanted to, you need to slow down. Period. Training runs and I’m talking training runs ONLY need to be 60-90 seconds per mile slower than your race pace. The best way to find what your correct training paces should be is to use a calculator like McMillans. You put in your best pace for an actual race that you’ve done and it will spit back to you your expected completion times for other distances and also what your training runs paces should be. Give it a try!

      http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/calculator/

  7. Roz@weightingfor50

    AWWWw….funerals certainly can leave you emotional for some time afterward. I’m glad you were able to celebrate her, in a way she would have wanted. Sending big hugs your way Fran!!!!!!

  8. What is that last picture of? I’m trying to figure out what all the bright stuff is. Sorry for your friend. That is very hard.

  9. The photos of your food look so delicious! I’ve never heard of a fish cookie, but the photo looks so good!

    I’m so sorry about your colleague. Funerals are hard. *hugs*

  10. I had a lot of reading to do, but now I am caught up. Lots of stuff going on. Sorry about the death…it is hard all the time, but even harder with younger people. Hugs to you Fran.

  11. That’s what my husband wants (he’s convinced he will die before me because he says he can’t possibly live without me!) just a party at a bar with lots of drinks – no funeral!

    Those fish cookies look interesting!

Leave a Reply

