Monday August 27, 2012: Mishmash

Daily stuff:

Saturday R. had a race in a town that’s a 30 minute drive away from home and I went there in the afternoon to watch him. A friend of ours who has never seen him race went with me. This was fun for me too because I had someone to talk to and watch R. race with.

Although these races aren’t about who’s coming in first but who’s riding the most steady rounds (lots of different motor bikes with different power) R. was doing fantastic. He loves trying to pass other bikers and he started fourth in the race and ended up begin first. But since it’s all about steady rounds, he didn’t win. But I was very proud of my sweetheart.

Bella was watching the race too

Workouts:

Saturday morning I did the same training as Wednesday, it went great. After only 2 runs I notice I start to like running again. It’s not an easy workout because I try to run the running parts faster than I used to and that’s going well but the walk breaks are very welcome.

Stats:
Run-walk ratio: 3-2 3-2 4-3 4-3 3-2 (17 minutes running, 12 minutes walking)
Weather:dry, little bit of wind,15C(59 degrees)
Distance: 4 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:29:32
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Like a virgin

Yesterdays run went very well too. Strange weather, it started dry, then some rain with strong wind and at the end dry and sunny. And all of that in just 30 minutes.

Stats:
Run-walk ratio: 3-2 3-2 4-3 4-3 3-2 (17 minutes running, 12 minutes walking)
Weather:dry/rain, windy,15C(59 degrees)
Distance: 3.9 K / 2.4 miles
Time: 00:29:30
Last song on Ipod before finish: Michael Jackson – Off the wall

Weekly workout review:

I’m very happy with this week results. All my runs went great and I can already say I start to love running again. I did all my planned workouts this week.

Bella and Fran’s Summer challenge: walk at least 30 minutes every day:

Days till the end of Summer: 66 days
Success: 21 days
Fail: 21 days

We aren’t doing so good on the challenge. Most of the days missed were due to the weather, either it was too hot or it was raining cats and dogs. But we’re not giving up and continue with the challenge.

Food:

Monday

 

Yes, I’m still doing the 365 cook project but haven’t made any recipes the past 2 weeks. It was too hot and I didn’t cook much and had no energy to go through my cook books to find recipes and choose meals that were easy to make but pretty boring.

Today, however, I made a new recipe from Nigella. It was a salad with avocado, cheese, ham and corn with a dressing of mosterd, red wine vinegar and olive oil. We also had marinated chicken that I grilled.

9 responses to “Monday August 27, 2012: Mishmash

  1. What great news about your running! It made me smile to see you enjoying it, your way. I should do an interval run like you are doing once a week, because like you said, you run the running part faster, which would be tolerable knowing that it’s only for a few minutes and then you get a walking break. Nice plan!

    Thank you for your very sweet comment today. 🙂

  2. Congrats to R on doing so well! I am glad to see you happy with your running workouts, too 😀

  3. Don’t call it fail. Just focus on the success. I had a good run today. They certainly aren’t all that way.

  4. Good that the running is getting more enjoyable – does it have something to do with the half marathon pressure being off? In any case, hope you continue to enjoy it – life is too short to keep doing stuff we don’t like!

  5. Im with ANDREA!!
    and I also could never do the365 cook project.
    Id tweak it and call it the 3 cook project 🙂
    I COULD TOTALLY COOK three times a year.

  6. I think the fact that you no longer feel pressured to meet certain paces or mileages is helping you enjoy your running again. I’m happy for you 😀

    Bella is too cute sitting there watching R!

  7. Roz@weightingfor50

    Congratulations to R!! And yay that your running is becoming more fun again. Oh Fran, that picture of little Bella peeking to watch the race is SOOOO cute. AWWWW. Have a wonderful day.

  8. You told me about your husband bikers’ races. Rode he an Italian Ducati bike last Saturday? Anyway, congrats on his good race!

    Glad to hear your running is improving 🙂

    Have a nice weekend!

  9. Congrats to R. I would be scared to drive a motorbike during a race.
    Glad to hear that running is going better.
    Great photo of Bella!

Leave a Reply

