Wednesday October 3, 2012: My second running career

Daily stuff:

Today marks the start of my second running career.

Running hasn’t been going well almost for a year now and I started the 7 weeks to 5K program again today, I had some thoughts about it during that run this morning. I know I can run a 5K, a 10K, a 10 miler, I even trained for a half marathon. I can do that once running is going well. But it’s not good for me to keep looking back to what has been. It’s better to look forward and first work towards a 5K without walk breaks and in a faster time. Once I’ve done that, it’s time to look at what’s next. One step at a time, one run at a time. There will still be bad runs but my goal is that from this point on my running will go better than the past year.

Tomorrow is going to be a fun day. My manager and I have organized an afternoon/evening for our franchisees. We’re going to the Tennis Classics. The Tennis Classics is a tournament played by retired tennis stars. We start with a lunch followed by a presentation by Jacco Eltingh (multiple grand slam winner at the doubles). After that we will watch the first tennis match between Richard Krajicek (Dutch tennis player who wonWimbledononce) and Carlos Moya. Then it’s dinner time and after dinner there’s a double between Mansour Bahrami/Paul Haarhuis and Goran Ivanisevic/Raymond Sluiter followed by a match between Andrei Medvedev and Ivan Lendl.

Unfortunate Pat Cash (who I found so cute when I was young) is injured and replaced by Andrei Medvedev whom I don’t know that well.

After the last match we will have drinks and then it’s time to go home. It’s going to be a long day (first I have a meeting in the morning) but I think it will be fun too. I will try to make as many photos as I can.

Workouts:

I’m a lousy stretcher. When I do a DVD I do the stretching after the workout but I hardly stretch after a run. One of the workouts of X-TrainFit is stretching that I did yesterday morning and I have to say it felt very good to do nothing more than stretching for a while.
Total time: 26 minutes.

As said, this morning I started 7 weeks to 5K again and it went very well.

I do find something very annoying of running in the dark. I wear a yellow safety jacket over my running jacket, I wear lights and in a few weeks I’m going to use my head lamp again. I make sure cars and bikers see me. But I see a lot of bikers in the morning that don’t use the lights on their bike and that’s annoying, not to mention dangerous. There’s nothing I would love to do more than yell at them that they need to put their lights on but it’s dark and early and you never know if someone gets angry and I don’t want to take the risk of getting attacked. But it sure is annoying.

Stats:
Run-walk ratio: 3-2-3-2-4-3-4-3-3-2 (17 minutes running, 12 minutes walking)
Weather:rain, windy,11C(51 degrees)
Distance: 3.9 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:30:25
Last song on Ipod before finish: TheJacksons – Can you feel it

Tuesday Dinner 

I made a recipe from my Light Cooking magazine: steak tartare with the sides rolled through crushed nuts, potatoes with herbs and red onion out of the oven and stir-fried spinach with garlic and pine nuts. It was delicious.

Book I’m reading

George R.R. Martin
A Song of Fire and Ice – Book 4 A Feast for Crows

TV shows I watched last week
Game of Thrones,Dallas, Parenthood, The Mentalist, True Blood, Mad Men, Necessary Roughness.

12 responses to “Wednesday October 3, 2012: My second running career

  1. I’m glad your run went well this week.
    Your tennis event sounds fun. Can’t wait to see pictures.

  2. How can people on bikes see without lights? Good luck and have fun in your new running career.

  3. You should hear me rant and rale at bikers who ride stupidly at night (or during the day for that matter). It gives a bad name to those of us cyclists that obey traffic and safety laws.

    Welcome to Running Fran 2.0!

  4. The tennis day sounds like great fun – I recognized several of the names you mentioned. Your company does a lot of really neat events!

    I hope you get what you want out of running. I’m lucky in that I just don’t care all that much about my speed, which is a good thing because I’m not fast. Maybe you should move to the U.S. and run with us slowpokes – you’d feel much better about your pace, I’m sure! 😉

  5. Good luck with the renewed start on your running! I always figure every day is a chance for a new beginning, why beat yourself up for the what happened or didn’t happen yesterday, right?

    Have fun at the tennis – sounds like fun! My idol was John McEnroe when I was a teenager!

  6. I too was a horrible stretcher 🙂 until it allll caught up with me at 42.

    oops.

  7. Trying to stay injury free make me a pretty good stretcher after runs. Funny fact: I never stretch at the end of Muay Thai classes. Maybe because as our class is ending another is beginning so we need to clear the floor.

    Comparison is the thief of joy. (That includes comparing old running paces!)

  8. I am not good at stretching. I only do it when I get injured. Good luck wiht your new career.

  9. Have fun at the tennis match. Andre Agassi was my fav. Loved John McEnroe too.

  10. In response to your comment – Delilah was a fairly quick learner too as far as housebreaking. I have heard that basset hounds can be very difficult to break but I’ve never had issues in the past so this is new for me. We trained Delilah in an apartment though so maybe the smaller living space helped? As for not pooping in her own space… my car is pretty small and Nova has gone once when it was her and Delilah in the back seat together. I think it’s an anxiety issue or something. I’ve never had a dog do that before! Nova has now done it multiple times. We don’t have a small carrier for her but it we may have to look into it. The only problem is she is about 32 pounds and nearly 30 inches long already so fitting a large enough carrier into my car could be an issue.

  11. Love your outlook on your running now! Wow, what a fun day planned – hope it went well for you!!

  12. I am glad to see you keeping at it Fran. I know I have been in a running slump this year too, and sometimes you just need a little break. I think it’s great that you know what you are capable of though (the longer distances as you’ve done them before). That will keep you pushing on, but don’t let those numbers discourage you either. Each running journey is it’s own thing — and i think it’s great that you are starting over. I need a little running revamp myself. And I personally have incorporated a lot more walking into my running which i have found to be very enjoyable. Keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

