Monday October 8, 2012: Easy weekend

Daily stuff:
We had an easy weekend. R. catched a nasty cold at the end of last week and I’m afraid I’ve got it too since today. Am getting a nasty cough but so far that’s all and I can live with that.

R. also bought himself a new “toy” last Saturday at a motor exhibition: a mini bike. He’s going to restore it till it’s as good as new.

 

Have not much more to say, as said, it’s been a quiet weekend.

Workouts:
Saturday morning when I got up it was raining cats and dogs, and I mean raining hard! I got up, put on my running clothes, had a coffee and watched the rain radar. It wasn’t going to be dry all morning but it would rain less hard in a while and I waited for that. I finally went and was soaking wet within minutes, after 5 minutes I couldn’t avoid a puddle of water and had wet shoes and socks. And although it’s been a while since I ran in this kind of rain, it wasn’t bad at all. Once you’re wet, you’re wet and it doesn’t really matter anymore.

After the run however, I was walking on the sidewalk when a car passed me and drove full speed through a puddle of water and gave me a full shower. You know the scene from movies LOL. As if I wasn’t wet enough already. But all of it was nothing a hot shower couldn’t fix and I was glad I went afterwards.

Stats:
Run-walk ratio: 3-2-3-2-4-3-4-3-3-2 (17 minutes running, 12  minutes walking)
Weather:rain, not much wind,11C(51 degrees)
Distance: 3.9 K / 2.4 miles
Time: 00:29:06
Last song on Ipod before finish: New Radicals – You get what you give.

The weather was completely different Sunday morning: dry, sunshine with a bit of fog, not much wind. In fact it was beautiful and gorgeous:

My 3 runs this week all went very well and I enjoyed every one of them, even the wet one on Saturday. Off to week 2.

Stats:
Run-walk ratio: 3-2 3-2 4-3 4-3 3-2 (17 minutes running, 12 minutes walking)
Weather:dry, sunny, not much wind,7C(44 degrees)
Distance: 4 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:29:24
Last song on Ipod before finish: Lady Gaga – Born this Way

Weekly workout review:
Fantastic workout week, not the longest workouts but I did 6 of them.

Bella and Fran’s Autumn challenge: walk at least 30 minutes every day:

Days till the end of Autumn (Thursday December 20): 90 days
Success: 16 days
Fail: 1 day

So far we are rocking the Autumn challenge. We missed only 1 walk so far and that was on Thursday when I was at the Tennis Classics till late in the evening.

Sunday dinner

Pork tenderloin with mushroom sauce, baked potatoes and grilled vegetables: zucchini, garlic, cherry tomatoes and capers.

Monday dinner 

Dish is called: green bean fantasy. Made with green beans, sweet potatoes, yellow pepper, mushrooms, bacon, pumpkin seeds and a little bit of cinnamon.

8 responses to “Monday October 8, 2012: Easy weekend

  1. I love that you can say you enjoyed every run, even the rain one. Way to go, Fran!!! 🙂

    That mini bike reminds me of my childhood – not that I ever rode one, but some of the boys I grew up with did. It’s so cute! (probably shouldn’t tell R. I said that – tell him it’s very manly, lol!)

    I hope you don’t get sick; sending you get well vibes right this instant!

    P.S. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who runs on an empty stomach. 🙂

  2. Roz@weightingfor50

    Oh Fran, that fog picture is GORGEOUS. Hope you and R feel better soon!!!!!!

  3. I am sorry you are feeling under the weather! Get well vibes coming from NY to you!

    I love that scooter. It looks really little, though. Like my size LOL! I used to have a scooter and I loved it, but then it got stolen.

  4. YAY for once Im not too too reading behind!!

    **proffers the tissues**

  5. I don’t mind running in the rain either – unless it’s cold. Even when it’s warm if you run in the rain you’ll feel a little bit cold when you’re done. Sorry that you guys are still battling sickness – get well, that’s an order!

  6. Hi!

    I am really enjoying your blog!

    I’ve been nominated for Liebster Award and wanted to pay it forward by nominating your blog for one too!

    The Rules:
    1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
    2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
    3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
    4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post. Go to their page and tell them.
    5. No tag backs.

    Happy blogging!

  7. Hope your cold passes quickly and R. is feeling better. That mini bike looks fun!
    The photo of Sunday morning is beautiful!!!

  8. I hope you feel better soon but I think that the cold will not stop your runs and your walks with Bella.
    The drivers must be more educated and pay attention to the persons.
    I like the rain. I remember the “wet workouts” how the best: too fun and many laughs.

Leave a Reply

