A day in my life: Friday November 27th 2009

Thoughts:
I’m preparing to start with the new WW program. I’m not counting anymore now because I want a fresh start with the new program which is probably available online around December 5th.

From that moment on my intention is to follow the WW program strict till I reach my goal weight and after that keep following it for at least three months to stabilize.

I’ve read at some blogs that one are taking it easy till Christmas, to keep the focus of the goals or weight loss. For me I will try to keep on going all the way up to December 31th and continue on January 1st. I’ve had my last difficult meeting of this year yesterday so from now on it still will be busy at work but the pressure is gone till January.

My social life is a bit busy in December and mostly on week days but I will keep on trying to do at least 4 workouts in a week, 5 is better. I have a very unpleasant doctor’s appointment on December 8th which worries me already. I’ll tell you more about it round December 8th. I’m not ill so no worries there.

This weekend is all about taking it easy. Tomorrow there’s a 5K run about 5 minutes walking from my home. I intend to participate but the weather has been very badly these last 3 weeks so I’ll wait till tomorrow and see what the weather’s like before I make my final decision. I haven’t signed up yet, I can do that 30 minutes before start.

 

Exercise:
Yesterday I was home late from work so no work-out. Today I had planned a work-out but decided to rest as I’ve planned to do this 5K run tomorrow. I did clean my house however.

 

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday we ate taco’s.

Today I’ve made cheeseburgers. As you can see in my pictures of dinner lately, it’s all not too healthy. I can really improve on that one.

 

The Ultimate Diet Log:
By the numbers: 135: Percent increase in intake of sweetened beverages in the US in the last 30 years. 38: Percent decrease in milk consumption during the same period. 278: Daily calorie increase due to increase in sweetened beverage consumption.

Food Factoid: Frozen fruits and veggies are just as nutritious as fresh. In fact, because frozen produce is picked at its peak, it can be higher in vitamins than fresh produce shipped from afar.

 

Best blog award:
I received this award from my neighbour friend from Germany: Marcelle at Marcelle living away.
Thank you my friend.

I’ll pass this on to:

Tamara at One last kick from the cat

Diane at Fit to the finish

Staci at Weight Loss Mama

Lori at Finding Radiance

Amy at Fit and Fabulous after 40

 

Itunes shuffle playing right now:
Back to memory lane again. This year R. and I visited 2 Bruce Springsteen concerts. 1 in Holland and 1 in Turino Italy in July. At this concert Bruce sang Drive all night, a song he hardly performs live so this was a very special concert to us.

 

Positive today:
Had the day off.

 

Daily Tip/Quote:
Happiness is an attitude.  We either make ourselves miserable, or happy and strong.  The amount of work is the same.
Francesca Reigler

9 responses to “A day in my life: Friday November 27th 2009

  1. Hope you enjoyed your day off????

    I’m also going to continue with my healthy lifestyle program – if a day or two I have to go over then so be it…but not yet, still too early to start letting myself relax, I saw how quickly I can gain weight if I have a bad weekend…so will be good right up to Xmas eve and then relax that night and on Xmas day…but other than that going to count points, track, plan and train!!!

  2. I have heard that about the frozen foods before. I think it is interesting 🙂

  3. Thank you for the award Fran! And good for you for planning to stick to the plan over Christmas. That frozen vegetable info is probably very true where I live. Fresh food comes from very far away usually. If I could come up with some more interesting ways to eat frozen veg, I would do it more. But I find sometimes they are too mushy and watery. Must try harder. 🙂

  4. Thank you so much for the award Fran. You totally deserve this award. I love how you are committed and determined in your weight loss. I too didn’t “take a break” during the holidays, but rather just kept trying to lose. It’s definitely a personal decision!

    I’ve heard the same thing about frozen. I’ve also heard that frozen is definitely better than canned.

    Take care, and thanks again!

  5. Hi Fran,

    The weather sounds really messy there lately… you’ve mentioned rain and/or wind a number of times. Yuck! Hope it’s good for the race on Saturday. I’ve read that about the frozen veggies and fruits. I think that’s good, because fresh produce is so darn expensive sometimes! Good luck with the 5K!

    I know what you mean about being busy! I’ve had a hard time keeping up with blogging and training with working two jobs. I’ve decided to give up my classes at the local college, so I can be home at night. It’s just too much on top of the day job and training. I’d rather have time to run, write, and cook! 🙂

    Find your balance, and I will, too!

    Hugs from Orlando,
    Robin

  6. I love the quote at the end. So very true!

  7. Fran – thanks so much for your comments on my blog! I have decided to stay on track through the holidays. When I made the decision to lose this weight, it was a complete lifestyle change. For me, if I “took a break” during the holidays then that would be like me giving my approval on living that way. My goal is to NOT live that way so it doesn’t make sense to me to revert back to old ways for a month.

    Thanks again for your comments, I look forward to learning more about yoU!

  8. Thank you for the award! You deserve it, too! I love how you are going to keep going through the holidays. That’s what it takes and you are doing it!

  9. I’m very curious how you will do with WW. Wish you good luck :-). Don’t worry too much about your doctor’s appointment. I know easier said than done, but it might be easier or more positive than you think! Take care!
    Is it that you are more tired or busier these days that you have the feeling of eating less healthy? I know it’s not always easy to keep it up when schedules get tight!
    Have a good week!!

Leave a comment