A day in my life: Wednesday January 27th 2010

Thoughts:
I’m struggling with time. I work 36 hours a week, do all the housekeeping, grocery shopping and cooking, try to work out 5 times a week.

Right now my work is very busy, I have so much to do so it happens nowadays that I’ve planned to leave at 4 pm and workout that it’s 4.45 pm before I leave because I want to finish something. When that happens I don’t work-out most of the time.

My gym doesn’t open before 8 am and it’s still dark till about 8.30 am so working out in the morning isn’t an option right now. Have to wait till end of February before I can run again in the morning.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my gym membership the past week. It ends on March 1st so I thought about renewing or not. Today I decided not to renew my membership. The reason is that this gym is in another town and it takes me 15 to 20 minutes to get there by car and the same time to get home afterwards. I liked this gym very much but the travel time made that I sometimes didn’t go.

Have I given up on the gym? No I didn’t because after I cancelled my membership I went home, made and ate dinner and went to my new gym after dinner. This one is 1 minute by car and 5 minutes walking. I can see it from my upstairs window. It is a bit more expensive than the other one but it’s also a health club and it opened in August 2008 so everything is new. They also have group lessons like Zumba and Pilates. It’s not open on Sunday (old one is) because I live in a Christian village where nothing is open on Sunday but I don’t mind since Sunday is my day for my long runs.

I have an intake on Tuesday. They want to make a fitness program for me but I prefer my own program. The intake is about your fitness age, blood pressure, condition, weight and so on.

If you’re interested, here’s the link of my new gym.

http://www.rulesforhealth.nl/defitnesszaal.html

As for my struggling with time: when do you workout if you’re limited in time?

Beck’s Diet Solution:

Day 18: Change your definition of being full
I have to practice for a month (shorter or longer, depends how long it takes before I learn the trick) with eating till I’m full and then stop eating.

If you are able to take a walk after dinner at the same pace as before dinner than you are normally full and ate enough. I do eat sometimes a bit too much because I like my food so I’m definitely going to practice with this.

Exercise:
Marcelle asked me on my previous post if I don’t use the treadmill at the gym.

I don’t, I don’t like it, it’s my least favourite cardio machine in the gym. I hate running on it and not going anywhere and see the same street over and over again. One of the reasons I like running so much is that it’s outside. I don’t mind rain, cold, wind, when it’s hot I go early but I hate running in the snow. But I will do my interval training on the treadmill, I promised myself, when the weather isn’t good. Because the difference in speed won’t make it boring. And if I can’t do my other runs outside due to the weather I will do a different workout on that day. The treadmill and I just aren’t made for each other.

No exercise yesterday and today. Yesterday I was tired. Today I had to go to my old and new gym for cancelling and sign in memberships.

The Ultimate Diet Log:

Research report: Lack of sleep impacts hormones that regulate appetite, increasing obesity risk. In one study, adults who slept 6 hours a night were more likely to obese than those who slept 7 to 9 hours. Those averaging 5 hours were 50 percent more likely to be obese.

I try to get in 7 hours sleep a night.

Nutrition shocker: In the U.S. Dietary Guidelines, a “small” muffin is defined as 1 ounce, which is a quarter of the average muffin top alone and considerably smaller than most “mini” muffins.

Positive today:
Changed gyms and happy about my decision.

13 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday January 27th 2010

  1. Fran,how great is it that you cancelled one membership and took up another one in the same day, that is true dedication my friend!

    I hear you on the treadmill – I HATE it with a passion! I don’t mind walking on it but hate to run on it. I did however find that if I put it on a bit of an incline it didn’t make me hate it as much. i just love running outdoors and when I take it to a machine I just dread it! You are not alone 🙂

  2. I LOVE THE TREADMILL….but you know that hey.
    I learned to run on the treadmill, the road came later for me…so in a way I put my music on and its my time to think…I love running in the forest in summer time, not on the road…
    we all different and that is what makes us so interesting.

    I’ve still got to look at your new gym ( the link ) and know I’m going to be so jealous as I worked in a Health center and love all the extra they have compared to the smaller gyms in my area…my gym really sucks…but am going cause I know it’s good for me…the gym hardly seems me during the summer months as the smell is too hectic for me to handle…winter is also bad.

    You are very busy compared to me….so I admire you for fitting all what you do in..if I dont fit a training session in its cause I’m lazy, not about time….

    Have a great evening…H is in Poland and I’m here home alone…

  3. You really have such a dedication to working out and fitting it in and I really admire that! When things get hectic I sometimes find myself doing stair work in my house for 10 minutes at a time. I am able to almost always exercise in the mornings, so it is usually weather that gets me down.

  4. Your new gym sounds great and if you can fit it in with the budget and it’s a lot closer, you’ll probably be saving money because you don’ t have to spend the money on gas! European gas prices are shocking!

    I hate the treadmill too. It’s sooooo boring staring out the window. I won’t even get on one that is facing a wall. No way! But it’s a necessary evil sometimes when the track is busy with spectators (my track is an indoor track around a hockey arena so depending what is happening on the ice, the track is not always the best place to run) That’s when I have to get on the hamster wheel. uh, I mean treadmill. 😉

  5. I am really struggling a lot with time right now too. Work never seems to slow down, and life away from work only gets busier.

  6. I think it is great that you cancelled your membership! I think it sounds like you made a better choice. In regards to my working out, I do work full time so I feel like I am on the go all the time. I have two small kids at home and I do not want to take time away from them so I go early in the morning, or later at night! Luckily, my husband is wonderful and we switch nights putting the kids to bed so I will leave when he is putting the kids down to work out. It is hard with my schedule. Sometimes I do not get home until late at night, but it has been worth it so far. Now, your lack of sleep information is very important and I am really trying to get my quality sleep in 🙂 Have a great night!

  7. Your new gym is so sleek and beautiful! I love that you can walk to it – sounds like what we all should be doing, if possible! I’m excited for you to start there – I hope you love it!

    I honestly don’t know how you manage to work out when you work practically full-time. I don’t work out on my 8 and 9 hour days – and have only just started running on my 4 hour work day. Hopefully with your new gym being so close to home it will be easier for you.

  8. The closer your gym is, the better! Then you have less excuses not to go! My gym is ten minutes away by car and also ten minutes by bike. Sometimes when I am busy the 20 minutes round trip really bothers me because I feel like it’s wasted time. Except if I go by bike then that counts as exercise – warm up and cool down, right?

    I really like the treadmill for tempo or interval workouts because you can really keep an eye on your time and speed. that keeps me busy enough not to get bored. I also love being close to a bathroom!

    I hope you really enjoy your new gym!

  9. I pulled up the link to the gym and that is to cool!! Jealous. I am really lucky I think to get to start this journey and not have to work. I will have to find the balance though because when I move back to the states I will work again. Hopefully you will get to find balance soon to!

  10. Sounds like a good decision on the gym. I hope you love it!!

  11. New reader here!

    Just wanted to stop by and say hi!

    Tiff
    http://www.project365th.blogspot.com

  12. YOU WOULD HAVE LAUGHED AT ME?????????????????????/

    your comment had me laughing….I could picture that poor man falling as he felt like i did..SOOOOOOOOOOOO STUPID.

    We started the new series of Greys, 24 and DH – so exciting – I love these series..
    Grey’s starts where one of the two in the lift survived…you there, dont want to give it away.

  13. Hey, you have to do what you have to do and it looks like you made a good decision that you’re happy with! I was shocked when I read your comment on my blog about the time your gyms open over there…that would be so frustrating. Mine opens at 5 am, but there are a lot of gyms in my area that are open 24 hrs.

    I *prefer* to work out in the mornings, but I always have such a hard time getting up. Working out at nights takes away from my family, that’s why I’d rather do it in the mornings.

Leave a comment