A day in my life: Monday March 8th 2010

Goals week 9:

Weight (weigh inn = Thursday)
Lose 0.5 kg / 1.1 lbs
No: gained 0.5 kg / 1.1 lbs

Exercise
Tuesday: interval running on treadmill at the gym -> check!
Wednesday: Gym, Matt Roberts program
-> no
Friday: 8K run  -> no running, bad weather, did walk for 30 minutes during lunch.
Saturday: Gym, cardio -> check!
Sunday: Trappenbergloop Huizen, 4K -> check!

Total km’s/miles this week
15K / 9 miles. -> 10.52K / 6.5 miles

Food:
No wine this week. -> check!

Lifestyle:
Get 7 hours of sleep every night -> check!

2 out of 5, this can be done better. I’m back on track with healthy eating since today, last week wasn’t all that great what explains the gain. As for the exercise, I’ve been very tired last week but that’s better right now too. My total km’s for the week is always the same, I need to run 15K a week to reach my year goal of 900K. I’m behind already due to the bad weather in January and February but I’m confident I will catch up on this during Spring and Summer.

Goals week 10:

Weight (weigh inn = Thursday)
Lose 0.5 kg / 1.1 lbs

Exercise
Tuesday: 8K run
Wednesday: Gym, Matt Roberts program
Friday: Interval training on treadmill
Saturday: 10K run

Total km’s/miles this week
15K / 9 miles.

Food:
Eat my fruits and veggies on Saturday and Sunday.

Lifestyle:
Get 7 hours of sleep every night.

Thoughts:
I found a nice surprise in the mailbox last Saturday: a card from my lovely blogger friend Marcelle who’s staying in South Africa with her family right now. Thanks Marcelle, this was very sweet of you!

As for my run yesterday, by the end of the afternoon the results were published on internet and I was number 39 out of 66 ladies who ran the 4K. I’m very happy with this result. If I finish somewhere in the middle I’m happy with that. I’m 41 years old and there will always be younger and faster runners so I have no illusions finishing first which is also not a reason for participating. I do these races because it’s fun and I like that I run at a different route/city than I normally do. Some pictures that R. took with his cell phone:

Start/Finish:

Before the race:

Finished!

What’s for dinner:
Today a piece of pork meat, potatoes and chicory.

Positive today:
Knowing I’m no longer the last one to finish on a run (at least at short distances).

Daily Tip/Quote:
To keep the body in good health is a duty… otherwise we shall not be able to keep our mind strong and clear.
Buddha

9 responses to “A day in my life: Monday March 8th 2010

  1. onelittlejill

    That card is too cute!

    I will totally be having a glass of wine with dinner tonight!

  2. Well done on that position…its such a huge improvement.
    I feel as if I am so much slower on the road than the treadmill…but am running and thats what I aim for each time, not how fast I go…for me with my hospital scare I am just so grateful that I am still able to run…slow or not…LOL

    Am happy you liked the card…I have to show Amber this blog entry so she can see who got her cards..both you and Sarah have put them on your blogs so will show her so she can get some sort of understanding on when you post something what happens.

    I need to get my eating in check…I find I am nibbling…and thats fatal as well.

    You look great at the start of the race…all ready to go.
    Well done my friend.

  3. Nice race pictures! Great job!!

  4. I like that you said you run for the fun of it – because when we become athletes at our age, it’s not likely that we will be first, and that could be frustrating if that is where you focus. But by running for fun, you don’t have the stress, you get to enjoy and at the end of the day what could be better?

    Love your matching headband and jacket – you look so stylish! Nice to see some race pictures!

  5. Congrats on your race!!!! My goal for this summer is still learning to run period. I will get there though! I hope.

  6. I love your positive for the day 🙂 That is so sweet of Marcelle to send you a card!

  7. Great work on the run Fran, so proud of you!

    That’s such a cute card and I bet you loved recieving it in the mail.

    Fran, just wanted to let you know that I no longer have a facebook account, but I know that you know how to find me …meaning you know where my blog is 😉

    I have notified all my friends and family and thought I would let you know in case you were looking for me.

    oh and you are far from the last one finishing, you did FANTASTIC on your run!

  8. Congratulations on the run! I feel exactly the same as you. Finishing in the middle is awesome. 🙂

Leave a comment