Roussy 1993-2010

Today is such a sad, sad day. Today is the day our beloved dog Roussy passed away.

This morning around 10 am Roussy was outside. She was sitting in the sunshine, something she really loved doing. I was outside with her and hugged her before I went upstairs to put something away and use the bathroom.

I must have been away for 4 to 5 minutes. When I got back I didn’t see her anymore so I went outside looking for her. I couldn’t find her at first till my eye caught something white in the pond. It was Roussy. I immediately pulled her out of the water but she wasn’t breathing then. I tried to massage her heart but it was too late.

After 5 to 10 minutes I called R. who was at his work and told him what happened. He came straight home. While I was waiting for him I sat with her on the couch hugging and kissing her. Her eyes were open and it looks like she was sleeping with her eyes open.

After R. got home he sat with her for a while too and then we called the vet. They told us to bring Roussy to them and they would take care of everything. So we did and said our final goodbye to her.

It is possible that she had a heartattack or a stroke as the vet says, which caused that she felt in the pond. But she was also blind, deaf and had not much coordination left where she was so she could walked in by herself too. We shall never know and it doesn’t matter: she’s gone.

Tonight the people of the pet crematorium will pick her up and she will have a personal cremation. After that her ashes will be send back to us and we will find a nice spot in the garden in the sunshine for her final resting place.

I’ve been crying all day, all I can see is her lying in the pond and blame myself that I left her alone.

Roussy was 16,5 years old and has been with us for 11 years and 3 months and she will be missed so much.

Goodbye dear Roussy! We love you!

23 responses to “Roussy 1993-2010

  1. Oh no 😦 I am so, so sorry for your loss. Sterkte!

  2. Oh Fran, I’m so sorry. And I’m crying too…she was such a sweet little dog and I know how hard this must be for you. It wasn’t your fault at all – accidents happen, and when you left her she was enjoying the sunshine – of course you wouldn’t think that she would move. You and R. gave Roussy a wonderful life and I know she wouldn’t want you to feel any blame. Big hugs to you, my friend.

  3. I am SO sorry for the loss of your beloved dog… My heart is aching for you…

    Thinking of you.

    Patsy x

  4. My dear friend, my heart bleeds for you after reading this…how terribly sad for you to lose a family member is such a horrible way. I can imagine that you cried all day and am just sad that I was not a phone call away to speak to you more personally – Roussy was loved by you and R and had a good life as being a member of your family….you are going to miss her terribly – big cyber hug…xx

  5. Oh Fran, I am so, so sorry to hear this. It wasn’t your fault, so don’t blame yourself. Take comfort in the fact that you gave her a wonderful life and cherish all the memories that you have of her.

  6. onelittlejill

    What a lovely dog. 🙂

    There are no words and I know that. Dogs are a part of the family and losing them is devastating. I have had three in my lifetime and I miss them all dearly. I hope Roussy has found my dogs in heaven and they are all playing. And you know, in doggie heaven…you get to see and hear and run and play and eat treats all day long so you bet she is a happy pup!

    Try not to be too hard on yourself. Sending hugs!

  7. I am so sorry to hear about your loss. What a cute dog and now she can go run and play in peace with the other dogs. It wasn’t your fault. It was just time for her to go.

    Thinking of you and sending hugs….

  8. oh my goodness FRan, your dog was gorgeous. So sorry for your loss. thinking of you and sending you hugs!
    xoxo

  9. Oh Fran – this is so sad. I’m very sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you, as pets like this truly are family members.

  10. Oh Fran … I’m SO sorry to hear this. I have a little dog too and I know how much they mean to you. In fact, she’s sitting beside me here at work. I read your post and looked at her with tears in my eyes. Roussy was adorable.

    Please don’t blame yourself, as hard as that is. You couldn’t have been with her 24/7 and did all that you could.

    Big ((HUGS)). Cry out all those tears.

  11. I am so sorry. Hugs.

  12. Oh Fran I am so sorry for your loss. I know how you must feel as I lost two dogs this way. Your heart is breaking but time will heal it, and you still have wonderful memories. I’m sending hugs your way.

  13. I am so, so sorry for your loss. Sterkte!

  14. Fran, I am so sorry to read about Roussy. Please don’t blame yourself and like Lori said, think of all the good memories.

    Sending you a big hug.

  15. Dear Fran,
    My heart goes out to you and I am so very, very sorry for your loss. Our pets are a part of our families and it is so very difficult and painful when they leave us. Please know that your beautiful little Roussy is in place of love, surrounded by peace and compassion. Thank you for giving her such a wonderful and joyful life. I am certain that she enjoyed every moment with you. I know how hard this is Fran. Be gentle with yourself and I promise you that as time passes your pain will ease and you will be filled with your lovely memories of this special little friend who brightened your life.

    Sending you big hugs and warm thoughts,

    diane

  16. My heart goes out to you, Fran… Ik wens je heel veel sterkte om de komende dagen en weken door te kunnen en om een plaats te geven aan dit verlies…geef jezelf de schuld niet, je had het niet kunnen voorkomen, je heb Roussy net een heel mooi leven gegeven en met veel liefde voor haar gezorgd. Het doet pijn om haar te verliezen maar de herinneringen blijven voor altijd. Mijn gedachten zijn met jou – hou je goed.

  17. I am so sorry to read this.

  18. I am so so sorry!!

  19. just wanted you to know that I am thinking of you.
    xoxo

  20. Fran I am so sorry for your loss. I’m sure you gave Roussy a lot of love and a great life. Please don’t blame yourself in any way. It’s not your fault. I’m sending you lots of love and hugs from Canada today. ((((hugs))))

  21. ((Fran))
    I am incredibly sorry for your loss…what a horrific thing to go through. 😦 You are not to blame sweet sister…
    Sending many good thoughts and prayers your way today…may you find peace through this.

  22. Fran, I’m sorry you lost your dog. He was adorable!

Leave a comment