A day in my life: Monday March 22th 2010

Goals week 12:

Weight (weigh inn = Thursday)
Lose 0.5 kg / 1.1 lbs

Exercise
Monday: Strength training -> check
Wednesday: 7K run
Friday: Run
Saturday: Cardio
Sunday: Zandvoort Circuit Run: 5K

Total km’s/miles this week
15K / 9 miles.

Food:
Eat 3 meals and 3 healthy snacks everyday.

Lifestyle:
Get 7 hours of sleep every night.

Thoughts:

This weekend has been strange. Normally I get out of the house 4 times during the weekend to walk Roussy but this weekend I have been out only twice, one time for grocery shopping and one time for running. That’s okay though, I gave myself this weekend to give everything a place and I did.

But it also made me realize that I need to run outdoors more than ever. I already said I wanted to run more outside now that Spring has begun and now I need it, otherwise I won’t get out that much. So that’s what I’m going to do: run outside 3 times a week and try to take a walk on days I don’t work out.

Today “normal” life has started and so is the continuing of my healthy lifestyle. I have picked it up where I left it last Wednesday.

I received my starting number in the mail Saturday for Sunday’s run.

It will be fun as it is on a race track where normally car races are held. Here’s an impression:

Tomorrow is date night again, the last show which we will go to this theatre’s season. It’s a show with music by a Dutch music group called “Acda en de Munnik”. We’ve seen several shows of them and it’s always fun to go to.

Exercise:
As the house was so quiet and R. wasn’t home I decided to go for a run yesterday morning. I didn’t go for speed or distance or a long run, just running. It felt good although running didn’t go naturally. It was cloudy but right before the end of my run the sun came out. I like to think that was Roussy: smiling at me from doggy heaven.

Stats:
Weather: 15 ˚C/59 degrees, cloudy, dry, lots of wind, little bit of sunshine
Distance: 4K / 2.4 miles
Time: 0:27:47
Average time: 6:57 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour

Today I went to the gym to do a Matt Roberts workout, felt good and took me about 52 minutes to finish it.

What’s for dinner:
Today meatballs, potatoes and broccoli.

Daily Tip/Quote:
Dogs’ lives are too short.  Their only fault, really.
Agnes Sligh Turnbull

16 responses to “A day in my life: Monday March 22th 2010

  1. Hi Fran – like your new blog colors! The race course run looks very interesting! It will be good to have something to get prepared for and set your sights on…good for you to get back in the saddle again, just pick yourself up and get back on track. Things have been a bit weird around here with the new job possibility falling through (it would have been in the US so naturally we were looking forward to it), so I need to follow your good example and get back on the wagon a.s.a.p. – thanks for inspiring me! and yes, I think we will find a way to meet up one of these days – we should find a race to do together! Breda, Eindhoven, Maastricht??? Hugs

  2. that’s a very interesting course, how neat!

    We are very foggy with spiting snow and rain today, it sucks!

    I love the new blog colors Fran, very “springy”.

    Glad to hear that you are returning to as normal as you can given the circumstances, stay strong my friend.

    I’m still trying to get better, this darn cold has knocked me flat on my butt! Hopefully it will end soon!

    Have a great night!

  3. I’m glad to see you getting back to your routine!

  4. What a track. I love that you shared that with us so we can have an idea! I love the bright color of this blog now.

  5. I know you are still struggling, but it sounds like you are coping well.

    That race on a car racetrack sounds like a lot of fun. I think it’s a great idea!

  6. Like your new blog site, makes me think of Spring. That race sounds great I did one last year at the race track and it was a lot of fun. Your course looks like it has a lot more turns. Hope things are getting easier for you.

  7. Love the lime green – I feel happy seeing the new layout!

    OK, how do you get a racing bib with your name on it?!? That is awesome!!! And the run on the racetrack will be crazyfun – I am so envious of you!

    Glad you are feeling a little more normal – it will take time. And how sweet of Roussy to shine on you during your run yesterday!

  8. Hi Fran! Thanks for visiting my blog. Running on a race track sounds like fun!

  9. Way to go Roussy…still bringing you sunshine.

    The race track looks cool! Good luck!!!

  10. I agree, sometimes it’s just important and necessary to get outside to run. It’s so refreshing! I’m enjoying your blog ! Good luck with the start of your “normal” life, that just sounds too funny!

  11. What a cool course!! I’m jealous! 🙂

  12. No – it was a “once in a lifetime” opportunity – now it’s back to being in Brussels til retirement most likely (although who knows these days)…
    Eindhoven would work – it’s about an hour drive for me and I know the route well – my brother in law works for Phillips in the states and he used to have business trips to Eindhoven and we would go up for the day and see him…
    btw my email is amycrawshawbel “at” yahoo “dot” com
    Hope your week is going well.

  13. Hey Fran, good to hear things are getting back to normal! Isn’t this weather great!?

    I will look for you Sunday! I’m doing the 12KM business run! My number is 2185 🙂

    I bet Roussy really was smiling down at you! Nice!

  14. That looks like it will be a fun race 🙂

  15. Your race sounds super fun. I love the idea of running on a race track. Good luck this weekend! 🙂

  16. Wow Fran that course looks really cool! I’m glad things are starting to feel somewhat normal for you. I’m sure you’re still thinking about Roussy all the time. I hope you’re starting to feel a little better though. Good for you for planning more runs. Definitely the exercise will make you feel better.

    I love your quote by the way. Very fitting.

Leave a comment