A day in my life: Friday February 12th 2010

Weight Challenge week 6-2010

Starting weight: 89.2 kg (196.6 lbs).
Target weight: 70 kg (154 lbs).
Current weight: 79.3 kg (174.8 lbs).

This weeks result: -0.5 kg (- 1.1 lbs)
Total loss: – 9.9 kg (21.8 lbs)

Fat percentage: 41.1 (last week 41.7)
Muscles percentage: 30.2 (last week 30.2)
BMI: 26.5 (last week 26.7)

This week I’ve managed to lose 0.5 kg (1.1 lbs) despite the gain of more than 1 kg (2.2 lbs) over the weekend so I’m happy with that result.

Thoughts:
Eventually R. got home by 11 pm, he has been on the road for 5,5 hours to get home. When he almost got home he had to stop for a railway crossing but the road was very icy and when he hit the brakes the car didn’t stop so he hit the gate. His window cracked through that. Luckily he could drive further and didn’t stand still on the railway crossing. He was stressed after it happened but made it home safe. I’m happy it was just damage on the car and that he was fine.

I signed in for a race next Sunday: a cross run throught the woods but got an email today that it was cancelled due to the weather. This is my second race this year that’s cancelled because of snow and icy roads. I’m sick and tired of the snow.

So my plan of 12 months, 12 runs is not really working, however I don’t see it as failed because I will do 2 runs in March and look for another run somewhere this year to make up for the cancelled run on Sunday. My goal is still to do 12 runs this year.

Exercise:
One day of rest became two days of rest and I’m feeling great again now. My body really needed it I suppose. So I’ll stick for now to my plan of 2 days workout (sometimes 3) in a row and 1 day of rest.

Today I had planned a run but the roads are still icy here so running outside wasn’t such a good idea. Instead I went to the gym to run on the treadmill. To make it interesting I choose a program with hills for 35 minutes. Never done hills training before and it was though from time to time but I made it and the run wasn’t that boring this way.

Stats:
Weather: inside
Distance: 4.7K / 2.9 miles
Time: 35:00
Average speed: 7.27 /km

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday spaghetti carbonara

Today beef with snow peas, yellow peppers and some teriyaki sauce served with unpolished rice.

Positive today:
Weekend has started!

Daily Tip/Quote:
Failure doesn’t mean you are a failure… it just means you haven’t succeeded yet.
Robert Schuller

9 responses to “A day in my life: Friday February 12th 2010

  1. Hello my friend across the way…
    Am pleased R was not hurt but can imagine how scary it was for him…I would have panicked as well.
    its very icy and cold out still, it snowed today as well…no one is running outdoors at the moment, my next road run will be in Cape Town…two weeks time, am looking forward to it. Taking my skipping robe with so I can do some cardio if the wind blows…I hate running in the CT wind and rain, so want to be prepared. Wonder when I get back the end of March if it will be warmer for outdoor runs here…I know from the past I only get out around June, I love running in the forest and find it very mushy right up to May…but have one route that is okay….will see when I return.
    Our treadmills dont have programs you can set them on…the old one’s did but the new one’s you have to manually move if you want to do hills…and I do…but do like the programs that the treadmills set out for one.
    Meals look good…
    I’m counting calories and points at the moment….found a great site for calorie counting and think I might give up point counting if I manage to lose the weight I gained this way…testing…

    I have a new cell number, did you get the email with my new number??
    Do u have a black berry???
    Asking as they have this instant chat that is for free…
    Have a good Friday evening, have a glass of wine on me…xx

  2. Congrats on the loss Fran!

    Sorry to hear about your run being cancelled. That sucks. I like that you are not going to let these cancelled races interfere with your plan to run 12 races. Good for you.

    That spaghetti carbonara looks so delish!

  3. So glad R wasn’t hurt and congrats on the loss!!

  4. Congrats on the loss.And I love that quote!

  5. Congrats on the loss!!!! I am glad to hear that R wasn’t hurt. I hate driving in the winter for that reason. Hope you have a great weekend!

  6. Scary what your husband went through…so glad he wasn’t hurt.

    I hear you on being DONE with winter! Too bad about your race being canceled…it is supposed to be in the mid 50s temperature-wise tomorrow and I am going for a run, so I will take you with me in spirit!

  7. That must have been scary for R – at least it was only the car that was damaged, it could have been much worse. I had a scare yesterday too – started skidding out and heading straight for a house, just managed to turn the wheel and remembered to let go of the brake – it freaked me out.

    I can’t believe another race cancelled! What a bummer! I was so sick of the cold yesterday I couldn’t even get myself to the gym, which probably would have made me feel better. Hopefully it will warm up early next week – we can only hope, right? Good for you for getting on the treadmill! I have to go do my long run on the treadmill tomorrow, the roads are just still too dangerous.

    enjoy your Saturday evening!

  8. Oh no don’t expect a call from you….just wondered if you had a blackberry, if I dont ask I will never know and only wanted it for the chat…
    I cant call you either as my call to Holland was huge on my bill, Heinz wanted to know who I had called…LOL
    my bill over the time i was in hospital, all my sms’s to family in South africa…was over 150 Euro’s…so do understand -xx

  9. I am sorry the run was cancelled, but know that you are happy with that loss. I hope you had a good weekend!

Leave a comment