A day in my life: Saturday October 10th 2009

Health:
Not much to tell in the health department. Yesterday’s dinner wasn’t healthy because I was too tired too cook and choose the easy way out: fast food.

Exercise:
I’ve had a hard time exercising the past few days, partly due to the illness of my dog and partly because I’m so busy at work right now. But work isn’t going to change the next few months so I had to get back on track.

So this morning, even though I didn’t feel like going, I’ve put on my running clothes and shoes and went for a run. My original plan was a 8K/5 miles run but I knew that wasn’t going to happen today so I just started running and would see how far I would come. I made it through 4K/2.5 miles but I was having a hard time. When I got home and update my workout at a special running site it seemed I ran 8.3 km an hour which is my second fasted time ever. Strange huh, you’re not feeling too good and than you ran fast.

As far as the Shred is concerned: I’m already bored and I’m at day 6 of level 1. I’m a person who needs variation in her workouts otherwise I quit early. However I do see progress when I do the shred so I’ve decided to finish it but without a deadline.

I’ve been thinking a lot these last few days and this morning during my run about my exercise progress and I don’t feel I’m making progress. Sure I did ran a 10K but at a very slow time and that’s good but I want to get faster, I want to lose fat and gain muscles.

So after a tip of Amy (Fit and fabulous after 40, see my blogroll) I’ve bought a workout book of Matt Roberts, he’s an English personal trainer for many celebrities. His book contains about 20 workout programs.

I’ve decided that I’m starting next week with his 90 days weight loss plan. This means I have to go to the gym 3 times a week (which isn’t bad because I have an all-inclusive subscription which I right now hardly use). The program contains cardio and strength exercises which I believe, will help me also to run faster and get my heartbeat at a lower rate than it is right now when I’m running (between 95 and 100% of my maximum heart rate).

I’ve looked at my schedule for the next 3 months and it should be possible to exercise 5 times a week. Again I didn’t put a deadline on this program. If I can’t go three times due to circumstances I just finish the program a week later as long as I finish all 24 workouts.

Long story I know but summing up it comes to this:
–          Goal: lose fat, gain muscles, get a lower heart rate and run faster
–          Weight loss program: 3 times a week at the gym
–          Running: 2 times a week (1 long run over the weekend, 1 short or interval run on a weekday)
–          Do the shred on running days

The Hot 100 – Going out with a bang

Update for October 3rd till 10th

My goals for the next 100 days are:
Lose at least 6 kg / 13 lbs. -> lost -1.6 so far
Reduce fat% with 2 points (09/23: 43.3). -> final result on December 31th
Exercise at least 4 times a week with at least 2 runs in a week. -> did that, including 2 runs.
Complete the 30 day shred between September 23th and December 31th -> started October 2nd, completed 5 days.
Complete a 30 day challenge hard at the WII EA Sports Active. -> dropped this one and replaced it with: Finish 2/3 (=24 workouts) of Matt Roberts weight loss plan.  Completed 0 out of 24 workouts.
Sleep at least 7 hours a night. -> did that every night.

Thoughts:
Roussy is doing okay. She still has the kidney disease which can’t be cured and we think she won’t be with us all that long but for now she’s doing good. No more diarrhoea, no more throwing up and she’s eating very well. Seems she’s hungry all the time so we give her small portions of food when she ask for it. She’s lost about 3 kg/6.5 lbs over the past few weeks which is very much for such a small dog. We’ve decided to see what happens day by day and when the day comes that she’s too sick we will make the right decision then.

Tonight I’m going to have a fun night. I’m going to one of my best friends and we’re going to eat tapas. It’s a late birthday gift (my birthday is in May) from her to me. I’m really looking forward to it. I will take my camera and make pictures of the food.

Positive today:
Went running even though I would rather have stayed at home.

Daily Tip/Quote:

The best day of your life is the one on which you decide your life is your own.  No apologies or excuses.  No one to lean on, rely on, or blame.  The gift is yours – it is an amazing journey – and you alone are responsible for the quality of it.  This is the day your life really begins.
Bob Moawad

10 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday October 10th 2009

  1. Overall it looks like a great week for your goals. Good job getting out and running even though you didn’t feel like it. It is times like that which separate the winners and the losers.

  2. Wow… you have some amazing goals set up! That’s a lot of exercise!! 🙂 Good stuff!! The Shred does get boring, but it does work, and you see results fast. I want to do it again soon, probably after my EA Active 30 Day Challenge is done…

    I’m glad Roussy is doing a little bit better, keeping you both in my thoughts & prayers. ((Hugs))

  3. Love this entry…makes me feel very motived as well to continue and also look for new ways of training now that I’m back and have access to the gym again.

    Do you run in the cold weather outdoors?

    I want to hear more about your new book once you have it..am looking for a weight program to follow as doing my own thing now, at my weight I need to do more weights than cardio now…

    So pleased to read that Roussy is better, such a relief to you.

    Got back to Germany this morning…

  4. Great quote, love it!

    Sounds like you are right on target for your goals and you know exaclty what you want and what you need to do to get there! Keep up the great work!

  5. Hi Fran, Glad to hear Roussy is doing better. Hope she can enjoy being happy with you for however long she has left.

    I’m so excited to hear you are going to do the Weight Loss program from Matt Roberts, I actually did that one too, but I never managed to get past the first month! I am in part two of the Beach Body program now and I know I will finish it before I leave for the US in a few weeks.

    After I get back, I plan to do another program from the book til the end of the year, probably Women’s General Fitness. I really like how everything is explained in the book. Good luck to you in working with it – I am curious to see how you like it!

  6. Glad to see Roussy is doing better.

    Great goals!!!

    Thanks for the kind comment on my blog.

  7. It is great that you went running anyway. When you really are not in the mood it is so hard to get out the door. Sorry your dog is ill that is sad. Hope she gets feeling better soon.

  8. I am glad to hear Roussy is doing better!

  9. I like your goals. I’ver never heard of that book. I’m going to have to check it out. I too get bored with specific workouts, except for walking/running. I always like that.

    I’m glad Roussy is doing a bit better now.

Leave a comment