A day in my life: Monday November 23th 2009

Health week 47:

Goal 1 (lose weight every week):
Weight result November 19th:. : gained 0.4 kg/0.8 lbs.

 

Goal 2 (eat healthy every day):

Monday: Pink, Tuesday: Orange, Wednesday: Pink, Thursday: Purple, Friday: Orange, Saturday:  Purple, Sunday: Purple

Pink (my favourite colour) day = good day. I only eat healthy food and exercised.

Purple day = okay day. I did eat healthy but didn’t exercise or I didn’t eat completely healthy but did exercise.

Orange day = I’m in trouble. I didn’t eat healthy and I didn’t exercise.

Goal 3 (work-out 5 times a week):
Monday: Matt Roberts weight loss plan, week 3, training 3
Tuesday: –
Wednesday: 30 Day Shred, level 1, day 8
Thursday: –
Friday:  –
Saturday: 4K Run
Sunday:   30 Day Shred, level 1, day 9

Goals week 47:
1)       Don’t have a dessert at the 2 dinners out I have this week. -> no, did have dessert at both dinners.
2)       Eat only 1 piece of pie at R.’s birthday. -> no, ate 2 pieces
3)       Workout 5 times -> 4 times

Not such a good week: only 2 pink weeks and didn’t hit one of my goals! Here’s a chance to do better this week.

Thoughts:
Thanks for all the comments on especially the sleeping part in my last post. I have to say that I don’t have any sleeping problems. As soon as I’m in my bed I fall asleep. The point was that I went to bed too late. I’ve been watching this over the weekend and am not tired anymore. So I’ll try to get my 7 hours of sleep every night from now on.

Saturday night I had a nice dinner with R. I did eat to much but as he’s having a birthday once a year I could live with that.

So yesterday was R’s birthday. Our birthday’s have exactly 6 months in between which means mine is on May 22nd. 6 months in which I will focus on getting a lot of the goals I write down every week in my weight challenge. Since I’ve started blogging I did well on the weight loss and work outs but the past few weeks I felt it slipping through my fingers and I need to refocus on my goals and work towards them. I won’t let the holiday season, or being busy at work, or being tired stand in my way anymore. I’m going to work to reach my goals and hope that you will be here to support me, motivate me or give me a kick at the but if needed. 6 months!

Birthday cake of which I had 2 pieces!

We went to a concert last night of a Dutch artist called Ilse de Lange (see you tube links). R. is more a fan of her than I am so every once and then we go to a concert of her. I have to see that yesterday’s concert was very good.

Exercise:
Saturday I went out for a run and at the first steps I felt this wasn’t going to be my run, I was tired. So I decided to try and see how far I would come, after all the weather was great to run outside.

I made it to 4K (2.5 miles) but had to walk 4 times in between. After entering my time online it seemed I had run 8.2 per K which is fast for me.

It feels like I’m losing it, that I can’t run any further than approx 6K even though I did 10K only 2 months ago. So while running I decided to watch carefully what I eat so I’ll lose more weight and feel better and get enough sleep. I’m not giving up: I will run a 10K again and faster than the last one!

Sunday morning I got up on time and did day 9 of level 1 of the Shred. This way I had my workout of the day before our family came for R’s birthday.

Today I went to the gym straight from work and did the Matt Roberts weight loss plan, week 4, training 1. 30 minutes of cardio followed by strength training and crunches. I feel good now.

What’s for dinner:
Saturday night we went out for dinner.  For starters I had a Greek salad.

Main course was veal with pesto cream sauce.

For dessert I had tiramisu. It was good but I have to say mine is better J

Yesterday tomato soup with bread and tonight kale and saucage.

Itunes shuffle playing right now:

Ilse de Lange – Puzzle me

Positive today:
Went to the gym and had a great workout.

Daily Tip/Quote:
You have to decide what your highest priorities are and have the courage – pleasantly, smilingly, nonapologetically – to say ‘no’ to other things.  And the way to do that is by having a bigger ‘yes’ burning inside.  The enemy of the ‘best’ is often the ‘good.’
Stephen Covey

15 responses to “A day in my life: Monday November 23th 2009

  1. Love the pics! Except now I want to run right out to the Dutch store and get some gebakjes. LOL! I miss those. We had a nice Dutch store in the neighbourhood and when I was young we always had tea and gebakjes on our birthdays.

    Hope R enjoyed his day! It looks like you were having a lovely time at dinner.

    Regarding desserts at dinner. Sometimes when I just have to have one D splits it with me so I only ending up eating half a dessert. You might want to try that.

    My birthday is soon too…and I think I am going to have my own dessert. Maybe D can order something different and I can have two different tastes! Hahaha!

    Glad you got to the gym!

  2. Although you aren’t entirely pleased with the week, you are doing fine in the whole scheme of things. An off week every now and then doesn’t prevent success. It may slow it a bit, but it doesn’t prevent it.

    By the way, I like the quote at the end.

  3. I think you are doing well. A day or two of feeling off or making different choices than you want will not ruin anything. Instead, it helps you know how you will handle maintenance!

    The running thing is interesting. For a long time I could easily run 5 miles, but then found all of a sudden it seemed too hard. I backed off a bit for a while, and then kind of started over. I wonder why that happens sometimes?

    Congratulations on all you have accomplished, and those pictures are great!

  4. That birthday cake looks great – the best of both worlds!

    You really are doing well, Fran – I think you do a great job of balancing everything.

  5. I love the way you are consistently accountable to the goals you set for yourself. It’s great to keep things in check this way and always know exactly where you are at and when you might need to step up your game. This is one of the things I have been lacking! You’re very inspiring!

  6. onelittlejill

    First of all…I love that cake!!!!

    Second, keep focusing on the positives and accomplishments (big and small)…you are doing a fabulous job!

  7. I agree with Jill, just stay focused on the positive. It looks like you had some good days and had a good plan 🙂 Have a great week!

  8. My dear special friend…
    Please forgive me!!!
    I read this entry last night via my feedreader and wanted to listen to the song before commenting, as it was late I went to bed thinking I would do so today…today I thought to myself…*Fran’s blog, must go* and then got carried away with other stuff…

    I saw your very very handsome man..wow, that was the first thing I thought…*Fran has a looker*

    Now I still have not listened to this song and cant now as Heinz is sitting here listening to the tv and the sound will annoy him…so tomorrow…remind me on twitter.

    Your meal out looks divine,that dessert is the best!!!!!!!!!!

    I’m feeling like Diane with the running…its getting harder and harder for me…that’s why I’m trying to break it up with walking in between to keep myself moving…I wonder why that is as well, like Diane does.

    I’ve got my caramel rooibos tea waiting….
    Sorry again my friend…Know I was here….xxx

  9. to answer your question, you get into push up position, you do a push up and then walk your hands over to one side, then you do a nother pushup and walk your hands back to the middle. another push up and then walk your hands to the left and repeat… I think it’s on level 3 of the Shred.

    Oh and here’s a little push, you nails will look beautiful on the street when you hit it with your running shoes on…the day is not over yet my friend 🙂
    xoxo

  10. I know, but I did feel so bad for not visiting as I always do and did…..but didn’t let you know i was on your blog…next time I’ll leave a smiling face if I dont have time to do anything else…x

    LOL..at what you said about hubby!!!!

  11. That cake looks so good!

    Some weeks are better than others. The good thing is that you are conscious of what you are doing (or not doing). Awareness if 75% of the battle.

  12. I think you are doing pretty well and a day or two off won’t mess anything up.

    Love the pictures… especially that cake. It’s so cool!!

  13. I think it’s great that you make goals for yourself every week. Even if you don’t achieve them, it gives you something tangible to strive for. One of my favourite quotes is “our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall”. And that is exactly what you do week after week. You keep going for it and I admire you for it. A true success in my books!

  14. I WAS SITTING DOWN WHEN I READ YOUR MAIL, but i jumped up when i read what you wrote to me, ( dont want to give it away here )
    YAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
    I THINK THATS FANTASTIC…
    yes, yes, yes…i began the new one on Monday and with you doing it as well you can share as its difficult for me to understand all in German – having you there i can ask questions!!
    DO IT – JOIN!!

    Am going to a meeting this evening as i need to swap my old book and restaurant guide book for the new one…
    How exciting is this news…..

  15. The birthday cake looks sooo Dutch to me :-)). Do you get offered so many cakes at work as well? I always did, the cake makes me think of that too. Fortunately I’m not a cake lover so I could say ‘no’ many times.
    In that field I really love your quote of this entry… so true. But not always easy!!

Leave a comment