A day in my life: Wednesday January 6th 2010

Thoughts:
I had a little piece of apple pie today. My best friend K. who works with me too had her birthday last Saturday and she had brought apple pie to celebrate that. It was delicious and I watched my other food today so I still stayed within my 29 points.

Tonight I have to go to the birthday of another friend of mine. She’s one of my oldest friend. I’ve known her ever since I moved her 16 years ago. But I won’t eat anything at the birthday and I also will pass on the wine tonight. I’m right on track and I want to keep it that way.

Tomorrow is my day off. I work 36 hours a week which means I have one Thursday every two weeks off. After I clean my house and do my grocery shopping I want to go for a run. The weather is perfect these days, it’s cold but clear with sunshine in the afternoons, so I look forward to my run tomorrow.

Exercise:
Yesterday I had planned to do the Shred but my legs were so sore of Monday’s training that I skipped. Today it’s not much better. So I decided to change my strength program in the gym. The program I follow now is too much orientated on legs in my opinion and it takes me about 1 hour and 20 minutes to finish it which is too long for me after working all day. I like workouts in the gym which take about 1 hour.

My upper body needs to be toned more most of the fat is centred on my stomach and upper arms. So I switched programs and will start a program focussed on the upper body which exists of 6 different work-outs, each have to be done twice which totals it to 12 workouts.

Further I will try to finish the 100 push up challenge: http://hundredpushups.com/ and I will try to do abdominal exercises twice week. I’ll do these after regular workouts. But I have to see how this goes because my life is already busy now.

This means in a week:
Running 2 times
Upper body weight training 2 times
Pilates 1 time
100 push up challenge 3 times a week for 10 minutes
Abdominal exercise 2 times a week for 15 minutes

What do you think? Too ambitious or not? Good decision to switch weight training or do you think I have to keep training my legs also?

What’s for dinner:
Yesterday some pork meat, potatoes and broccoli.

Today it was “hachee” beef with onions and apple, mashed potatoes and red cabbage.

The Ultimate Diet Log:

Research report: Large dishes, bowls, and serving utensils skew your idea of what’s a normal serving and prompt you to eat more – as much as 57 percent more when it comes to large ice cream bowls and scoops and 53 percent more with jumbo bowls of Chex Mix.

Nutrition shocker: The Hershey bar weighed .6 ounces in 1900, its first year on the market. Now the standard bar weighs 1.6 ounces and other sizes weigh 2.6, 4, 7 and 8 ounces.

Positive today:
Enjoyed a piece of apple pie but still stayed within daily WW points.

Daily Tip/Quote:
I still find each day too short for all the thoughts I want to think, all the walks I want to take, all the books I want to read and all the friends I want to see.
John Burroughs

18 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday January 6th 2010

  1. I’m looking for new dishes….smaller dishes.

    Have fun at the birthday party…..

  2. Good plan for the party tonight. I love that you intend to stay on plan.

    Your workout plan sounds too ambitious for me. I couldn’t do that. But if it works for you, that’s great. It’s a really good variety of training.

    I’m sooo going to disperse of that three pounds this week. Absolutely!

  3. Hello my dear friend.

    I’m impressed that you ate the apple pie and still keeping to your points.
    Yesterday at hospital they brought me a tart with my lunch, I decided to try a taste so cut off the smallest piece on the end, not even a point’s worth and tasted, it felt good that I could control myself and not eat it all with it being good. I am learning….I still taste the bad stuff but not over indulge like I used to. That’s growth in my opinion.

    I find with running my legs are getting a good workout so also like to focus more on my upper body -whenever i do machines or weights I always keep my abs in tight so they working out all the time without working them if u know what I mean…it works. I don’t do many abs in my training and have seen a huge difference with keeping to those principals.

    I do like to do squats and legs from time to time as the bigger muscles burn more calories and build more muscle which burns more fat on the body.

    Enjoy your birthday party this evening.

    Love
    Me xxx

  4. I think it is always good to switch up the workouts once in awhile! I think it will be good for you 🙂 Have fun at the party!

  5. I switched to smaller plates last year, it makes me feel like I have a full plate…the mind games we play 🙂
    Glad you were able to have your pie and eat it too 🙂 great way working it into your day!
    Oh and i love red cabbage!

  6. I think switching it up is good but you will know what you enjoy most. I haven’t had apple pie in forever. Sounds yummy. Thanks for the info on the heart rate monitors to.

  7. Hi there! You and I are on very similar fitness programs. Pilates, 100 push ups, etc… I should be fun to see how we both enjoy this (or not!).

    Good job staying stronger and sticking to your points. I’ll keep checking in to see how you are doing. Can’t remember – are you doing The Perfect 10 Challenge? If now, check my blog for details and join in 🙂

    Friday is my weigh in so let’s see if I’ve made progress.

    Cheers!

  8. I like how you had the pie and just watched the other areas of your food that day. You are so good at this!!

    Your training looks wonderful as always. I hope you have a good week!

  9. I loved the 100 push ups challenge – I just wish my elbow had not started giving me trouble (from pull ups, not push ups).

  10. I hope you meet your goal for tonight. I’m very bad in social situations. I think my only ally is a piece of gum in my mouth.

    I think your workout plan makes sense. Sometimes people say you need some leg work to help keep the muscles in your legs strong enough to protect your knees and joints, but I’m no expert so I don’t know. Try it for a bit and see how you feel I guess!

  11. The red cabbage looks great!

    Thanks for the sweet comment on my post the other day, I appreciate the support!

  12. I think it’s good you are switching up your training – you don’t want to get burned out on the gym, and it sound like you were on your way with that loooong workout! I’m finding that running is giving my legs a good workout, so you’re probably fine without an official leg workout.

    Nice work with the pie!

  13. Hachee…lekker…my mother always put cloves and onions in it. So delicious.

    Love your plan. I think if you are running you don’t have to worry too much about leg work. Try it out and see how it goes. You can always adjust if you find it is not working for you.

    About the chips…hahahaha…I know we have to not be concerned about what other people are eating. It happens to me often. I just put on my blinders or get my own crunchy, healthy snack. When I used to eat bread products I would often make my own homemade tortilla chips from whole wheat pitas. I would make some homemade salsa and go to town. Yum!

  14. Fantastic job on staying on plan and still managing a piece of pie. Now, that’s balance.

  15. I think the lower body exercises are good because they increase your overall strength so you can do some very beneficial cardio. All you really need for cardio is two legs too. I started by walking my dogs–now I can do 2 45 min elliptical sessions each exercise day. If you’re new to all of this, that’s the only reason I think you should do lower body first.

  16. Mmmmmm…. pie

    I think you should keep one lower body workout in there. Your muscles will get used to it after a bit. Plus it will help your running!

  17. Ohhhh pie! Awesome that you treated yourself in moderation, which I believe is key.

    Your workout routine sounds vigorous, you can do it!

  18. its only because i’m keeping you on your toes Fran, i wrote and posted the post at night rather than waiting till the morning, it was a big moment for me and I just couldn’t wait to share 🙂

    What’s new with you……..waiting for an update, no pressure though 🙂

Leave a comment