A day in my life: Wednesday April 14th 2010

I’M SO EXCITED
And I just can’t hide it
I’m about to lose control
And I think I like it …..

Since the start of this year I’ve been struggling: lose a little, gain a little weight. It looks like I’m maintaining weight but I’M NOT! I still have about 7 kg’s / 15 lbs to lose. And since I’m not happy with my current weight I have to do something about that. I thought of last year, I started losing weight when I was in training from a 5K to a 10K run. I had a goal and losing weight went easy and almost naturally.

At this moment I don’t really have a goal except for running 900 K’s and 12 months, 12 races but I’m not training for anything. And the fact is that I love training towards an event, it gives me a reason to go running even if I don’t want to. So I need a new goal and here it is …..

Drumrolls please

NEXT MONDAY I START TRAINING FOR A HALF MARATHON!

No your eyes aren’t playing tricks on you, it’s true.
But you have to have a long breath because the time I’ve given myself for training is 1 year. Next year in April I want to run my first half marathon.

I have a great schedule that builds it up slowly. It’s a 28-week schedule, if I follow all trainings every week I should be finished in week 44 but I already know now that isn’t going to happen so that’s why I’ve given myself a year. I need the time to lose the last weight and to become a faster runner.

Every week exists of 4 runs:

  • A run of 30 minutes up to 55 minutes with tempo runs in it.
  • An interval training
  • A recovery run of 20 minutes
  • A long run

I will do the interval at the treadmill in the gym and maybe combine it with strength training (depends on how long the interval training is). Or I do the recovery run at the treadmill and combine that one with strength training. I will hold on to my schedule of 2 days working out, 1 day of rest. In weeks where I have 5 workouts planned I’ll do an extra strength training.

I’ve decided that if I don’t do all 4 runs in one week, I will do it over again the next week. I have some races planned in which weeks I can’t do the scheduled run on the weekend and that’s okay. When I finish the schedule and I have weeks left till my half marathon I will repeat the last weeks of the schedule.

I’m going to post my running schedule every Sunday or Monday on my blog.

When I started running last year, it became my dream to run a half marathon once. The original plan was to start Spring next year but I’m starting now. I’m turning 42 next month, I’m healthy now and I feel I can do this.

I hope you all have the time to motivate, cheer for me, inspire me the next 12 months because as I said: you are going to have a long breath, this is a one-year-journey.

I’M SO EXCITED!

Pic of the day:
Tuesday: Having my nails done at the nail salon.

Wednesday: First weeks of my half marathon schedule.

Daily Quote:
“We run, not because we think it is doing us good, but because we enjoy it and cannot help ourselves. The more restricted our society and work become, the more necessary it will be to find some outlet for this craving for freedom. No one can say, ‘You must not run faster than this, or jump higher than that.’ The human spirit is indomitable.”
Sir Roger Bannister

20 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday April 14th 2010

  1. WOW!! Congrats on making this commitment! I will defintely be here to witness your progess and cheer you on!

  2. Good luck with all the training, i know its going to take lots of dedication and motivation….a years training is a long time, I mean in the motivational side, but am sure everyone here in blogland will be here to lift you up when you finding it hard going etc etc.
    Nothing nicer than having a goal and going for it. I do admire you for that.Right now I have no motivation for anything but enjoy my day to day DAY!!!
    Sending love.

  3. Fran, if you could see me right now you would see that my eyes are filled with tears of pride!

    You my friend are amazing. You have committed to something and now nothing will stop you. A year is a very otainable goal and I know that you will be just fine.

    A year also gives you the freedom to enjoy your training and work on aspects that you need to work on.

    I am so PROUD of you, my goodness Fran, go get um!!!!!
    xoxo

  4. WOOOHOOOO Fran – that IS exciting! Good for you. I think you have a very safe, sane approach to this and I’m sure you will do well.

    I love that quote you put at the end. One of my favourites.

  5. Wow, Fran – I am so excited for you!!! A half marathon is a big commitment – I’ve been toying with the idea myself, but am just not sure yet. Your weekly training sounds very doable and you will be awesome at this! I will be for sure cheering you on as you progress toward your goal, my friend!!!

    And how funny that you almost did the same race as me on Sunday? Any case, we both will be running and that’s what’s important!

  6. That’s awesome Fran! I’m doing the happy dance with you!!! I love that you are so goal oriented and that you’re setting the goal now because you know you can do it. You rock!

  7. I would be surprised if this kind of training doesn’t translate into you losing those last pounds you want to lose. Congrats of making the commitment to do a half marathon. I’m so impressed.

  8. 1/2 marathon – you go girl! Woo Hoo!

  9. Congrats on the half marathon!!!!! You are going to rock next April!!!

    I can’t wait to read about how the training goes. I might get a few tips from you.

    I miss getting my nails done. It is so expensive here I don’t do it anymore.

  10. Congrats on signing up. Good for you!

  11. I am so excited right along with you and looking forward to following you while you train. What an awesome goal you have set got yourself. Way to go!!!!

  12. I am ready to cheer for you…but I will not wear a mini-skirt! LOL! I will shake my pom poms though.

    My dad left today for Holland 😦 I am sure he is going to be very happy to be there. Say hi if you see him…you saw the pic so now you will know him. LOL! I am really making myself laugh tonight.

    I must be excited for your half marathon! Woohoo Fran!

  13. Woo hoo, Fran, awesome!!! What a great goal! It will give you a huge sense of accomplishment. I am sure you will be able to do it – a year will give you plenty of time. I am curious, what race are you going to do for your half?

  14. Enjoy hairdresser and post a pic to share ur new look…or fresh look!!

    No my blog when private will not appear on your feedreader anymore, you will have to check at night when you log on as most days I blog in the morning, weekends late afternoon…so should be there for you….
    I see another friend of mine sends a email to everyone when she updates, will find out how that works and do that then.

    Enjoy your day, I’m cold….xx

  15. onelittlejill

    This soooooo exciting Fran!!!! You are going to be well prepared!!

  16. WOW! Great goal! I know you can do this and I completely understand about having something to train for.

    I’m the same way!

  17. This is really exciting Fran. You are rock solid girl. I have no doubt in my mind you will follow through with this plan. Way to go!

  18. I’m so excited for you that you are going to do a 1/2 marathon! You will have plenty of time train and wil do awesome.

  19. I think you have a great training plan for your half marathon.
    I’d like to do one too in September, but I don’t know if I’ll be ready. As soon as I’m running again, I’m going to see how fast I can start logging the miles.
    I found a 14-week training plan but considering how long couch25k took me, I may be looking at a year before I’m running a half marathon too!
    I’ll be anxious to read about your training!

  20. I am so excited for you! I can’t wait to follow your training. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a comment