A day in my life: Monday May 10, 2010

Thoughts:
I’ve kept a low profile on my blog for a few days because I had to think things over.
Lately I’ve been talking and talking about eating healthy and exercising but it’s mostly talking and no action. I feel I’m losing my credibility: to myself, to R. and to you, my blogger friends.

In two weeks I’m turning 42 and although I’m 6 kg (13 lbs) lighter than last year, my goal last year was to be a goal weight when I turned 42. At this moment I’m 6 kg (13 lbs) away from that goal. Since the beginning of this year up till now I’m mostly maintaining my current weight. I’ve asked myself: is that enough? Should I be happy with this weight and accept it?

The answer is no because my BMI is still too high, as is my fat %, this is not a healthy weight for me. If I want to change that I need to change myself, make different food choices, eat less, move more. I’ve got no one else to blame for this weight than me, I did this to myself and I am the one who can change it. So is today (again) the first day of the rest of my healthy life? Yes it is!

I’m introducing FEM-days. FEM stands for Feelings, Eating, Moving. Everyday I will write down how I’m doing in these 3 subjects. I’ll start with 30 days to see how this is going. I’ve put a little notebook in my purse, it’s not for tracking my food but for making notes during the day concerning food choices and/or feelings.

I can totally understand it if you are sceptic about this. If you follow me for a while you know I’ve started over and over again and I honestly don’t know yet if this is going to work. The only thing I do know is that if you don’t try it, you certainly know it won’t work. I hope you’re not tired of my newest attempt and still will support me on this.

Exercise:

Half marathon training week 2 (May 10-May 16):

Tuesday: 30 minute endurance run, pace 6:57-7:12/km with 3 tempo runs of 3 minutes, pace 6:27-6:42/km.
Thursday:  7 km endurance run, pace 7:12-7:27 /km
Friday: Climax run, pace 5:57-6:12/km, 100-100-200-200-300-400-600 m, 3 minute breaks.
Sunday: 20 minute endurance run, pace 6:57-7:12/km.

As I didn’t complete week 2 last week due to a hurting leg, I’ll do week 2 again.

What’s for dinner:
We had some meat tonight with potatoes and green beans.

Pic of the day:
Bella loves to drive in the car.

Daily Quote:
If you don’t like something change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.
Mary Engelbreit

17 responses to “A day in my life: Monday May 10, 2010

  1. Bella is so cute! You can just feel her happiness at going for a ride in that picture!!!

    As for trying something new, I think a lot of us are changing things up (I’m in the middle of writing about that for tomorrow’s post). We constantly have to see what is working and what isn’t…and then decide if we are willing to make the changes. Sounds like you are, which is great! Good luck with your FEM-days – I’m interested to see how that helps you.

  2. Fran, we all do what you do, we all start over and over and over….I don’t think one of us have never been in this situation….I also need to start again…think I will do it with you.
    My eating is bad
    I’m not training as i used to
    I’m hating how I feel…
    So know you are not alone and you have my support as I know i have yours.

  3. Fran – the great thing about life is that you can always try new and different things to help you out with whatever goal you want to reach.

    Writing down not just what you eat, but the why may be a very good key for you.

    I support you all the way!

  4. I really like your FEM-days concept. I’m interested in watching how that works out for you.

    Love the quote!

  5. Love, love, love this idea!!!

  6. I love that quote at the end. Definitely one of my favourites and the first time I read it a couple years ago it completely changed my outlook on life. I used that approach to so many areas of my life and made some much needed attitude adjustments.

  7. onelittlejill

    Fran, we all do that. You are being honest…in your own time in your own way. Don’t beat yourself up- keep up the good work!

  8. Oh, starting over is the best part about life! 🙂 I’m so happy to be back and see that you are doing well. Your running looks great. A half marathon? Yay you!

  9. “I feel I’m losing my credibility: to myself, to R. and to you, my blogger friends.” I know the feeling Fran. I have basically been in maintenance mode for a while. It is time to move on and finish this gig.

  10. Fran, no matter how many times you start over, you have my support.

    Bella is so cute in the car!

  11. Fran, I have exactly the same problem – I do really well on being consistent with my exercise but when it comes to food, I am all over the place. And the result is that my weight, even though I am lighter than I used to be, is still not at the healthy place I ideally should be. I like your idea of journalling feelings. I have been trying to log my food and workouts. Maybe we could support each other in some way – perhaps via email? Let me know what you think, because I really am getting sick of struggling with this year after year!

  12. You’ll get to where you want to end up. I know it!

    I lost about 30 pounds in the last year, and, at one point, thought there was no hope. What really helped me was looking at healthy living as a journey with no beginning and no end. We gain and lose weight for a reason, and if we look hard enough, we can always learn something from our “ups and downs.”

    I had to really re-tackle portion size and emotional eating last year, something I had done before but there was still so much work left to do…

    I also let go (for the most part…) of the thought that I’d be perfect, or have a “perfect day.” There are ups and downs in life, and I don’t always eat “perfectly.” But that doesn’t mean I’ll gain all the weight back… It is a journey, and what’s important is that we go in the right direction. But there are many paths, and sometimes there are some detours. And that’s okay…

    I like your idea to keep track of your feelings, eating, and moving. And I’m all for reassessing after 30 days! Remember, you’ll get there! 🙂

  13. I love the quote on the end of your post – very fitting. Also, I think it’s great that you will be writing down your feelings and thoughts for the next 30 days. It will be interesting to read over them and see a trend. I think it will also help when making food decisions, atleast it does for me. If I have to write it down, I don’t usually eat as bad.

    I am actually in a similar situation as you, where I am struggling to lose more weight, but just maintaining and have been for a year now. I am ready to make a change but obviously need to change something to get there. Good luck Fran.

  14. I love your new pup, how cute! And I totally get the feeling, eating, moving concept. I saw a dietitian/nutritionist/counselor and I learned a great deal about watching the emotions because at least for me they tended to make it hard for me to connect with my feelings of being hungry/full.

    As for starting over, every single day we get a chance to start over. This is so we can get better and better each time and have plenty of time to practice. Start over as often as you need. Take care of yourself.

  15. I am so with you on this. I feel like I might have to go back to my other blog. I feel like I am slipping more then ever. I have worked to far to come to where I am and I am wasting time. I am excited to see what you are going to do. Maybe it will give me some ideas. This weather really has me in a I don’t care mood.

  16. I’ve started over a million times. What’s the alternative? Give up…nope….keep on keeping on.

  17. RUN when you can
    WALK when you have to
    CRAWL if you must
    Just NEVER GIVE UP

    Dearest Fran,
    I copied the above directly from the top of your blog. It is all the inspiration you need. Why are you being so hard on yourself? You are exercising and eating well and you are healthy. Keep up the good fight and don’t give up! You can do it Fran!

    Now how about that puppy? What is she up to these days?

    And have you seen the trailer for the new Twilight movie? I think it opens here around the 1st of July.

    OK, back to you. I think you have great ideas and writing and tracking your thoughts and feelings can be very helpful. As always, I look forward to reading about the next 30 days.

    XOXO

    di

Leave a comment